Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
I have a Linksys router. It is autp configed with DHCP from the ISP. It gives me my IP, Gateway and 3 DNS's. I have all my XP boxes set ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    16

    Can't resolve DNS issues. Am I using the right ones?


    I have a Linksys router. It is autp configed with DHCP from the ISP. It gives me my IP, Gateway and 3 DNS's.

    I have all my XP boxes set up with the gateway and the DNS as 192.168.1.1 (my router's local addy). I also have my FC3 box set up that way. I tried to set up my Suse 9.3 Pro box that way but it wouldn't work. I did some cheking and checked into my ISP DNS's and found some strange things. Maybe this is normal, I don't know.

    My router has 3 DNS's setup with the Auto configuration. Here are my router's given DNS's:
    DNS 1: 216.144.187.199
    DNS 2: 207.44.96.129
    DNS 3: 216.144.187.71

    I looked at this site's "linux Answer's" section about DNS's and found the "dig" command, so I did the following:

    ************************************************** ************************************************
    $ dig @192.168.1.1 www.ptd.net

    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.4 <<>> @192.168.1.1 www.ptd.net
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 31871
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 6, ADDITIONAL: 6

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;www.ptd.net. IN A

    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    www.ptd.net. 84894 IN A 204.186.9.3

    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    ptd.net. 14103 IN NS dns2.ptd.net.
    ptd.net. 14103 IN NS dns3.ptd.net.
    ptd.net. 14103 IN NS dns4.ptd.net.
    ptd.net. 14103 IN NS dns5.ptd.net.
    ptd.net. 14103 IN NS dns6.ptd.net.
    ptd.net. 14103 IN NS dns1.ptd.net.

    ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
    dns1.ptd.net. 84798 IN A 204.186.0.201
    dns2.ptd.net. 84798 IN A 207.44.96.129
    dns3.ptd.net. 85456 IN A 204.186.0.203
    dns4.ptd.net. 171858 IN A 207.44.0.1
    dns5.ptd.net. 84798 IN A 198.69.185.1
    dns6.ptd.net. 84798 IN A 198.69.184.1

    ;; Query time: 14 msec
    ;; SERVER: 192.168.1.1#53(192.168.1.1)
    ;; WHEN: Fri Jul 15 12:04:53 2005
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 255

    ************************************************** ******************************************

    Is this the right way to find DNS's? None of the DNS's listed from "dig" are the same as the ones on my router. Is this normal? Am I doing something wrong? Which are the ones I should use for my resolv.conf file in SuSE?

    Any help is GREATLY appreciated!

  2. #2
    scm
    scm is offline
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,044
    AFAIK the only entry you need in your resolv.conf is "gateway 192.168.1.1".

    I've added the nameservers of my ISP, but I think my network still worked when I removed them (during my early days of experimenting).

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    33
    Yes, the only DNS name in resolv.conf should be your router's internal IP, which is most of the time 192.168.1.1, or in my case, 192.168.15.1. Check it out in your router.

    Frank

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    16
    I installed Suse 9.2 on my system and gave the gateway and name server my router's address and when it went to look and download updates it worked fine.

    Aftr the upgrade, my video output to my LCD wasn't working so now I am upgrading to 9.3 now to see if it will work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •