Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Quick run down on the system...IBM 760XD, 3COM megahertz 10/100 nic, slackware, 10 2.4.29 kernel. What is working: cardmgr see's the nic card, i get connection light on the card ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    3

    Routing Issue with static IP in Slackware 10


    Quick run down on the system...IBM 760XD, 3COM megahertz 10/100 nic, slackware, 10 2.4.29 kernel.

    What is working: cardmgr see's the nic card, i get connection light on the card itself and on my router. Laptop will beep if i remove it and reinsert it and it picks it up just fine.

    I can add a static ip with running the network config threw pkgtools. DHCP will not grab an IP.

    ifconfig eth0
    --snip--
    inet addr:192.168.1.110 bcast:192.168.1.255 mask 255.255.255.0
    --snip--

    My issue is i cannot add any routes to route. All it will show with route -n is 127.0.0.1

    Here are the following commands I have issued and the responced back.

    route add -net 192.168.1.0/24 eth0
    SIOCADDRT: Network is down

    route add -net 192.168.1.0/24 gw 192.168.1.210
    SIOCADDRT: Network is unreachable

    route add -host 192.168.1.210 dev eth0
    SIOCADDRT: Network is down

    route add default gw 192.168.1.210
    SIOCADDRT: Network is unreachable

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562

    Re: Routing Issue with static IP in Slackware 10

    Code:
     route add -net 192.168.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0  gw 192.168.1.210 dev eth0
    man route will show some help.
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    3
    I'v read the man page for route till my eyes bled. And googled this problem for about 2 weeks and still found nothing. I ran that command and receieved:

    SIOCADDRT: Network is unreachable

  4. #4
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    The command should work, I tested it before posting. So there is something else wrong. Probably the drivermodule for this nic.
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    3

    I have the same problem

    Any resolution? I have the exact same problem.
    phorgan1 at yahoo dot com

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1

    My way of problem decision

    SIOCADDRT: Network is down
    I had similar problem, when I tried to make new routing rule right after connecting to VPN server.
    I put the "sleep 5" command (without quotes) before that problematic rule.
    Time can differ from one system to another depending on it's hardware and software.
    Hope it will help someone.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •