Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
What modem do I need to buy that will work for Linux?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    9

    Dial-Up Modem


    What modem do I need to buy that will work for Linux?

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh.
    Posts
    150
    I like 3com and prolink.
    S. M. Ibrahim
    Registered Linux User # 394440

    Pentium-IV 3.00 Ghz(Cache -2MB, 64 bit), 512 MB RAM , 128 MB agp, 160 GB Hdd (SATA)

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    9
    Are both of them compatible with Linux???

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh.
    Posts
    150
    Quote Originally Posted by Squeaner
    Are both of them compatible with Linux???
    Yep. Mandrake 10.1 will recognize them.
    S. M. Ibrahim
    Registered Linux User # 394440

    Pentium-IV 3.00 Ghz(Cache -2MB, 64 bit), 512 MB RAM , 128 MB agp, 160 GB Hdd (SATA)

  5. #5
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    I'm a big fan of the Actiontec External Call Waiting Serial Modem. This version works great with Linux right out of the box.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    13
    Dapper: Are you sure? It says it requires a version of windows. I'm running an older PC partitioned with windows 98 and suse, my internal modem is a winmodem (I think). Will the onw you linked to work?[/quote]

  7. #7
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Quote Originally Posted by Solorebellion
    Dapper: Are you sure?
    A lot of hardware says, "Windows only" but still runs with Linux. I own this particular modem is why I recommended it. It works perfectly for me. Unless Actiontec has changed the chipset or something, which I doubt, it should work fine for you as well.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    13
    thanks, I'll keep that one in mind, although I'm looking at this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16825137104

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    9

    Dial-Up Modem

    The Modem I have is:

    PCIBUS=01:0a.0

    Providing detail for device at 01:0a.0
    with vendor-ID:device-ID
    ----:----
    Class 0700: 127a:1003 Serial controller: Rockwell International HCF 56k Data/F ax Modem (rev 01) (prog-if 00 [8250])
    SubSystem 0e11:b0bc Compaq Computer Corporation 229-DF Zephyr
    Flags: medium devsel, IRQ 5

    -----PCI_IDs------- --CompilerVer-
    Feature List: Primary Subsystem Distr KernelVer kernel default CPU
    ./scanModem test 127a:1003 0e11:b0bc mandrake 2.6.8.1-12mdk 3.4.1 3.4.1 i68 6

    127a:1003 could be either an HSF or an HCF Conexant modem

    I am able to get it to work with HCF drivers. Accept I don't want to pay $14.95 for 56k Drivers unless I have too. Or I'll buy another Modem.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    28
    OK. you can buy it! any modems that have real DSPs will work with linux!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •