Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Just installed this distro. One prob. Can't find the gui set up for samba. Anyone point me in the right direction? Ta...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305

    Samba on Suse 8.2


    Just installed this distro.

    One prob.

    Can't find the gui set up for samba.

    Anyone point me in the right direction?

    Ta

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    43
    hm... gui... kedit /etc/smb.conf

    does that count?

    sorry, no exp with suse

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Knoxhell, TN
    Posts
    1,078
    i know! i know! kterm ---> vim /etc/smb.conf :P
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    Are you talking about a wizard that guides you through the whole configuration process, or a GUI that makes browsing shares a lot more easyer?

    If you are thinking about the first one, I couldnt fine one. On the other one, I found plenty. Check here: www.freshmeat.net/xfsamba

  6. #5
    flw
    flw is offline
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,025
    Can't find the gui set up for samba
    Thats becasue there isn't one. I just Changed from RH 9 to Suse 8.2 this weekend which I am using right now. You still have to us the command line for setup and config. But I'm still trying to learn the basics of Suse myself so I could be wrong.

    Unless you want to install "webadmin".
    Dan

    \"Keep your friends close and your enemies even closer\" from The Art of War by Sun Tzu\"

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    Not needed now, Suse gave me hassle over monitor setting up so I reinstalled RH9

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    Why did you give up like that ?? The reason for using linux is to solve these puzzles

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    Quote Originally Posted by Ol Man
    Why did you give up like that ?? The reason for using linux is to solve these puzzles
    Installed me nvidia drivers no prob. Works fine in 1280x1024. Any change in res and there's an inch gap on the lhs of me monitor. Every time I go back into Sax2 to fiddle about it disables me 3d acceleration. Had exact same prob in Suse 8.0. And dvd playback was choppy to say the least.

    Least i got most stuff working in RH

  10. #9
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    Thats the point fiddle with it and it will work

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    2
    SWAT is the ooey your after.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •