Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, let me start of by saying that I am completely new to linux, so assume that I know nothing. Earlier today I installed Ubuntu on my computer. I set ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Newb seeking help with Linksys WUSB11 V 2.6

Hi, let me start of by saying that I am completely new to linux, so assume that I know nothing. Earlier today I installed Ubuntu on my computer. I set it up so that I can dual boot between that and Windows XP. The only means I have of connecting to the internet is through my Linksys WUSB11 v2.6 wireless card.

Like I said, I just recently installed Ubuntu, and being a bit neive, assumed that like in windows, all I would have to do is plug in my network card, and that it would be detected and the appropriate drivers found, and that I'd be on the net, just like that. Of course thats not how it turned out.

So my question is how do I get on the internet in linux using WUSB11 v2.6
    Please use as little technical language as possible, and attempt to thoroughly explain all steps involved in the process, even if it seems second nature to you, as I am really quite new. All I understand really is how to access the root.

I'm asuming though from some searching I've been doing that I'm going to have to download some kind of driver, and since I don't have internet in linux, that'll have to be in windows. So how do I transfer a file I download in windows to linux?

If anyone can help me, it would be greatly appreciated, seeing as the only things I use my computer for involve being on the internet, thus an internet-less linux = me having to use Windows.

what you will have to do is download a nifty program called ndiswrapper. This program allows you to use the windows driver to make the wireless card work under linux.