Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20
I'm still getting the same message about it not being supported. Somethign I noticed which noticed was the difference between the scripts. Code: [root@localhost init.d]# file dhclient dhclient~: Bourne-Again shell ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    27

    I'm still getting the same message about it not being supported. Somethign I noticed which noticed was the difference between the scripts.
    Code:
    [root@localhost init.d]# file dhclient
    dhclient~: Bourne-Again shell script text executable
    [root@localhost init.d]# file pand
    pand: Bourne shell script text executable
    Oh, and they are all green now that I've done the chmod, but nothing still.
    The dhclient script isn't in the list in /usr/bin/system-config-services either.

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    27
    I think I've figured out what is wrong, I need to add the line # chkconfig: 345 85 15 to it.
    I know what the first three numbers do, they set the run level, but the description I have doesn't clearify the other two all that well, what do they mean? And will this be ok to put in my script as is?

  3. #13
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    85 and 15 are its start/stop priorities, respectively.

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    27
    added the line, re-chmoded it, and still the same error message......
    Hey, I just looked at the error message a little bit closer, it says that the service isn't supported, does that mean that I can do this this way?

  5. #15
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    You very well might have to run it with #!/bin/sh instead of bash, even if it's linked to bash.

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    27
    So I change the #!/bin/bash to #!/bin/sh.
    I can do that, but I have a question: I've been using kwrite to do all of this, but saving in a different folder and then overwriting it is getting annoying.
    Is there any way to just edit it as root?

  7. #17
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    I don't know if Fedora is sane by default, but on gentoo, as long as you've done:
    Code:
    su -
    not
    Code:
    su
    you can just do
    Code:
    kwrite
    and it won't complain about not being able to access the X Server.

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    27
    ok, still no dice, still the same service dhclient does not support chkconfig
    Good news is that doing that made kwrite work right.

  9. #19
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    cool. This is getting nowhere, I seriously suggest you read up on the Fedora init script system a bit, or else we might be here awhile.

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    27
    I was just doing some more reading and I think it might have something to do with a file that dopesn't exist.
    Either way, thank you for your help, you've answered a lot of questions along the way, even if my journey isn't finished.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •