Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Let me preface this by saying I am COMPLETELY new to Linux. If I could get online, I could stay booted into Linux (have dual-boot system) long enough to putter ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Dial-up Connection Reboots - Why??

Let me preface this by saying I am COMPLETELY new to Linux. If I could get online, I could stay booted into Linux (have dual-boot system) long enough to putter around and learn it. But so far I'm failing. Which brings me to my question.

I think I have finally managed to get a decent driver for my modem and get the connection set up the way it's supposed to be. (Linux didn't used to even recognize that I HAD a modem and now it knows what it is, so this is progress!) I'm having this really bizarre problem, though. When I click to connect, the modem dials, connects and shows me the connection speed, tells me it's "starting pppd" and then REBOOTS THE COMPUTER. What is up with that???? I've never seen anything like it before.

I am using ELX ("Everybody's Linux"), with (I think) KDE. I am not new to computers; I've been using them since the mid-80's and used to be pretty familiar with DOS, so I'm not JUST a Windows user. But I'm starting to feel like it!

I would really, really, REALLY appreciate it if someone could help me get online because then I could take the time to learn Linux so I can eventually ditch MS. Thanks in advance.

Linux Engineer
    well for a first timer its a bad idea to pick an obscure distro like that. you will have better luck with somthing that has better support like suse or mandriva

Just Joined!
    Well, if no one uses it, it will stay obscure, right?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Quote Originally Posted by A2JC4life
    Well, if no one uses it, it will stay obscure, right?