Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hi Can anyone tell me what should I do to get this card work. I have installed the driver for it and I see ditails with iwconfig like this : ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    22

    SuSe 9.3 and WL54USB wlan


    Hi

    Can anyone tell me what should I do to get this card work.
    I have installed the driver for it and I see ditails with iwconfig like this :
    Code:
    linux:~ # iwconfig
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    sit0      no wireless extensions.
    
    ppp0      no wireless extensions.
    
    eth1      802.11b/g NIC  ESSID:""
              Mode:Managed  Frequency=2.412 GHz  Access Point: 00:00:00:00:00:00
              Bit Rate:1 Mb/s
              Retry:off   RTS thr=2432 B   Fragment thr:off
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:off
    
    linux:~ #
    I use also pptpconfig but for some reasons it connect only my lan card named as eth0.
    Code:
    Using interface ppp0pptpconfig: monitoring interface ppp0
    
    Connect&#58; ppp0 <--> /dev/pts/1
    CHAP authentication succeeded
    local  IP address ***.***.31.252
    remote IP address 195.197.59.31
    primary   DNS address 195.74.0.47
    secondary DNS address 195.74.0.55
    pptpconfig&#58; pppd process exit status 0 &#40;started&#41;
    ip route add 10.20.30.42 via 192.168.0.1 dev eth0  src 192.168.0.102
    pptpconfig&#58; routes added to remote networks
    pptpconfig&#58; DNS changes made to /etc/resolv.conf
    pptpconfig&#58; connected
    Any Idea how to get my wlan card work


    I also need to route with this commands :
    Code:
    route add -net 10.0.0.0 netmask 255.0.0.0 gw 195.197.59.31
    route del -net default
    route add -net 0.0.0.0 netmask 0.0.0.0 gw 195.197.59.31 dev ppp0
    Is there any way to do some kind of script that pptpconfig route connection for me, because I need to do those commands all the time I restart my pc.

    Thanks in advance

    Regards,
    Jeffi80

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    22
    I also want to know is there any kind of software which shows me all available wlan networks

    Regards,
    Jeffi80

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    22
    When I use #iwlist ccanning command I get these ditails :

    Code:
    linux&#58;~ # iwlist scanning
    lo        Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    eth0      Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    eth1      Scan completed &#58;
              Cell 01 - Address&#58; 00&#58;11&#58;95&#58;37&#58;04&#58;B5
                        ESSID&#58;"E1"
                        Mode&#58;Master
                        Frequency&#58;2.437 GHz &#40;Channel 6&#41;
                        Quality&#58;76/92  Signal level=79/154  Noise level=0/154
                        Encryption key&#58;on
                        Bit Rate&#58;1 Mb/s
                        Bit Rate&#58;2 Mb/s
                        Bit Rate&#58;5.5 Mb/s
                        Bit Rate&#58;11 Mb/s
                        Bit Rate&#58;22 Mb/s
                        Bit Rate&#58;6 Mb/s
                        Bit Rate&#58;9 Mb/s
                        Bit Rate&#58;12 Mb/s
                        Bit Rate&#58;18 Mb/s
                        Bit Rate&#58;24 Mb/s
                        Bit Rate&#58;36 Mb/s
                        Bit Rate&#58;48 Mb/s
                        Bit Rate&#58;54 Mb/s
    
    sit0      Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    ppp0      Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    linux&#58;~ #
    Can anyone please tell me how to connect to the network

    With #iwpriv I get these ditails :
    Code:
    linux&#58;~ # iwpriv
    lo        no private ioctls.
    
    eth0      no private ioctls.
    
    eth1      Available private ioctls &#58;
              list_bss         &#40;8BE0&#41; &#58; set   0       & get   0
              card_reset       &#40;8BE1&#41; &#58; set   0       & get   0
              set_auth         &#40;8BE2&#41; &#58; set   1 int   & get   0
              get_auth         &#40;8BE3&#41; &#58; set   0       & get  12 char
              set_preamble     &#40;8BE4&#41; &#58; set   1 int   & get   0
              get_preamble     &#40;8BE5&#41; &#58; set   0       & get   6 char
              cnt              &#40;8BE6&#41; &#58; set   0       & get   0
              regs             &#40;8BE7&#41; &#58; set   0       & get   0
              probe            &#40;8BE8&#41; &#58; set   0       & get   0
              dbg_flag         &#40;8BE9&#41; &#58; set   1 int   & get   0
              connect          &#40;8BEA&#41; &#58; set   1 int   & get   0
              set_mac_mode     &#40;8BEB&#41; &#58; set   1 int   & get   0
              get_mac_mode     &#40;8BEC&#41; &#58; set   0       & get  12 char
    
    sit0      no private ioctls.
    
    ppp0      no private ioctls.
    
    linux&#58;~ #
    and when I use #iwpriv connect ...
    Code:
    linux&#58;~ # iwpriv connect
    connect   no private ioctls.
    
    linux&#58;~ #
    Plese guys, help me out

    Regards,
    Jeffi80

  4. #4
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    Code:
    eth1      802.11b/g NIC  ESSID&#58;"" 
               Mode&#58;Managed  Frequency=2.412 GHz  Access Point&#58; 00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00 
               Bit Rate&#58;1 Mb/s 
               Retry&#58;off   RTS thr=2432 B   Fragment thr&#58;off 
               Encryption key&#58;off 
               Power Management&#58;off
    from your first post, it seems you have gotten driver working, but it is not associating with the AP. try this as root:

    Code:
    iwconfig eth1 essid my_ssid
    iwconfig eth1 key xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    iwconfig eth1 mode Managed
    for assigining an address, try this:
    Code:
    ifconfig eth1 ip_address
    hope this helps.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by AlexK
    for assigining an address, try this:
    Code:
    ifconfig eth1 ip_address
    hope this helps.
    Can you tell me which IP should I use for that setting

    Do I need to use MAC address of access point somewhere ?

    I use D-Link wireless router (DI-624+) and from the log I can see that my usb card is trying to connect to it after I have configured the network card settings from the YaST.

    Regards,
    Jeffi80

  6. #6
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeffi80
    Can you tell me which IP should I use for that setting

    Do I need to use MAC address of access point somewhere ?
    In response to 1st question, that IP address should be the ip address of your wireless card.

    In response to 2nd question, after executing the commands given in my previous post, execute this command:
    Code:
    iwconfig eth1
    if the access point field shows something other than 00:00:00:00:00:00, then you don't have to manually enter your AP's mac address.

    Remember when you set it up in yast, be sure to check the usb box, otherwise system will think it is a pci based wireless card.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    22
    I did just like you said but its not working.
    I tried also with KInternet without much result ... all settings seems to be fine but no connection to access point.

    For some reasons wlan card dont get the ip from the provider and it seems to be like this all the time :

    Code:
    eth1      Link encap&#58;Ethernet  HWaddr 00&#58;02&#58;72&#58;4B&#58;47&#58;D0
              UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU&#58;1500  Metric&#58;1
              RX packets&#58;0 errors&#58;0 dropped&#58;0 overruns&#58;0 frame&#58;0
              TX packets&#58;0 errors&#58;0 dropped&#58;0 overruns&#58;0 carrier&#58;0
              collisions&#58;0 txqueuelen&#58;1000
              RX bytes&#58;0 &#40;0.0 b&#41;  TX bytes&#58;0 &#40;0.0 b&#41;
    and here how it looks after configuration :

    Code:
    linux&#58;~ # ifconfig eth1 192.168.0.102
    linux&#58;~ # iwconfig eth1 essid "E1"
    linux&#58;~ # iwconfig eth1 mode Managed
    linux&#58;~ # iwconfig eth1 rts 512
    linux&#58;~ # iwconfig eth1 frag 512
    linux&#58;~ # iwconfig eth1 key s&#58;password &#91;2&#93;
    linux&#58;~ # iwconfig eth1 power on
    linux&#58;~ # ifconfig eth1
    eth1      Link encap&#58;Ethernet  HWaddr 00&#58;02&#58;72&#58;4B&#58;47&#58;D0
              inet addr&#58;192.168.0.102  Bcast&#58;192.168.0.255  Mask&#58;255.255.255.0
              UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU&#58;1500  Metric&#58;1
              RX packets&#58;0 errors&#58;0 dropped&#58;0 overruns&#58;0 frame&#58;0
              TX packets&#58;0 errors&#58;0 dropped&#58;0 overruns&#58;0 carrier&#58;0
              collisions&#58;0 txqueuelen&#58;1000
              RX bytes&#58;0 &#40;0.0 b&#41;  TX bytes&#58;0 &#40;0.0 b&#41;
    linux&#58;~ #
    but pptpconfig says that it cant reach the network

    Lan is working great and it gets the new ip from provider but wlan cant connect to ap.

    I tried to disable my lan card and run only wlan usb card but result is the same.

    Code:
    linux&#58;~ # ifstatus eth1
        eth1
        eth1      configuration&#58; wlan-id-00&#58;02&#58;72&#58;4b&#58;47&#58;d0
        eth1      DHCP client &#40;dhcpcd&#41; is running
    /var/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-eth1.info file not available
    eth1 is up
    9&#58; eth1&#58; <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,NOTRAILERS,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast qlen 1000
        link/ether 00&#58;02&#58;72&#58;4b&#58;47&#58;d0 brd ff&#58;ff&#58;ff&#58;ff&#58;ff&#58;ff
        inet 192.168.0.102/24 brd 192.168.0.255 scope global eth1
        eth1      IP address&#58; 192.168.0.102/24
    Active routes for interface eth1&#58;
      192.168.0.0/24  proto kernel  scope link  src 192.168.0.102
    linux&#58;~ #
    Any ideas ...

    Regards,
    Jeffi80

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    22
    Here you can see thet there isnt any ip for card yet ...

    Code:
    linux&#58;~ # ifup eth1
        eth1
        eth1      configuration&#58; wlan-id-00&#58;02&#58;72&#58;4b&#58;47&#58;d0
    Starting DHCP Client Daemon on eth1... . . . . . no IP address yet... backgrounding.
    linux&#58;~ #
    but im not sure what this means if the ifplugstatus says that the card is unplugged

    Code:
    linux&#58;~ # ifplugstatus
    lo&#58; link beat detected
    eth0&#58; link beat detected
    sit0&#58; unplugged
    ppp0&#58; link beat detected
    eth1&#58; unplugged
    linux&#58;~ #
    and here is ifstatus ...

    Code:
    linux&#58;~ # ifstatus eth1
        eth1
        eth1      configuration&#58; wlan-id-00&#58;02&#58;72&#58;4b&#58;47&#58;d0
        eth1      DHCP client NOT running
        eth1      is down
    linux&#58;~ #
    Regards,
    Jeffi80

  9. #9
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    woah, a lot of info there.

    Ok, firstly, I don't think you need pptpconfig to configure the wireless interface. When you setup the card in yast, did you enter the correct gateway address and dns server address (both should be the AP address for the wireless card). Also be sure to tick the usb box in the hardware settings. Now somewhere in the network setup for the wireless card, make sure that it is set to be activated on boot time and for the wired card, tell it only to bring it up if the cable is plugged in.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •