Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hello, im new using Linux. I already download the file Linux Ubuntu 5.04.ISO and install in my pc using router. I just install Linux Ubuntu in 1 pc for test. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    2

    Configuring Ubuntu Networking (cant ping gateway)


    Hello, im new using Linux. I already download the file Linux Ubuntu 5.04.ISO and install in my pc using router. I just install Linux Ubuntu in 1 pc for test.
    Code:
    Using ZXDSL 831 (Router)
    IP Adress = 192.168.1.10
    Gateway = 192.168.1.1
    DNS = 202.138.128.50, 202.138.28.28
    im have 2 PC Winxp OS and 1 Linux Ubunte but Linux Ubunte cant connect to Internet and cant Ping other PC together with the Gateway (router).
    The lan card detected and installed.

    Code:
    #ifconfig
    
    eth0
    Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:08:A1:7E: D0:04
    inet addr:192.168.1.10 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80:208:alff:fe7e:d004/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:313 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:58 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    callisions:0 txqueuel:1000
    RX bytes 28819 (28.1 KiB) TX bytes:2772 (2.7 KiB)
    Interrupt:11 Base address:0xd400
    
    lo
    Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:902 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:902 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    callisions:0 txqueuel:0
    RX bytes:80790 (78.8 KiB) TX bytes:80790 (78.8 KiB)
    Code:
    cat /etc/network/interfaces
    #The primary network interfaces
    
    iface eth0 inet static
    address 192.168.1.10
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    gateway 192.168.1.1
    
    auto eth0
    I already set my LAN, My Windows are doing fine for network but my Ubunte Pc wasnt ping the Gateway(192.168.1.1) only my ubuntu can ping himself.

    i try

    Code:
    sudo ifup eth0
    ifup: interface eth0 already configured
    When i try this PING:

    Code:
    ping -c 3 127.0.0.1
    PING 127.0.0.1 (127.0.0.1) 56(84) bytes data.
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1 icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.088 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1 icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.077 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1 icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.075 ms
    
    ...127.0.0.1 ping statistics...
    3 packets transmitted, 3 received , 0% packet loss, time 1999ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.075/0.080/0.088/0.005 ms
    Code:
    ping -c 3 192.168.1.10
    PING 192.168.1.10 (192.168.1.10) 56(84) bytes data.
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.10 icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.079 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.10 icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.070 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.10 icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.075 ms
    
    ...192.168.1.10 ping statistics...
    3 packets transmitted, 3 received , 0% packet loss, time 2001ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.070/0.074/0.079/0.010 ms
    Code:
    ping -c 3 192.168.1.1
    PING 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 56(84) bytes data.
    From 192.168.1.10 icp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.1.10 icp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable
    
    ...192.168.1.1 ping statistics...
    3 packets transmitted, 0 received , 100% packet loss, time 1999ms
    , pipe 2

    Detected Device for LAN Card:
    21x4x DEC-Tulip compatible 10/100

    Do i have to change the setting in my ROUTER?
    Is there other settings messed up?

    Any reply is appreciated...
    edited by moderator to add code tags

  2. #2
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    the router should be fine no changes needed
    this might be a case of the module for the nic not being loaded on boot
    could you faste the output of:
    Code:
    lspci
    and
    Code:
    lsmod
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  3. #3
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    actualy i found that a common problem with this card is that you cant use 'acpi' with it so add this to your kernel line in grub open your favorite editor something like this
    Code:
    sudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst
    and add this with a space to the end of the kernel line
    Code:
    pci=noacpi
    and this should fix it if not stop back...since i dont realy know that u have the offending card yet but this is common with cards that use this driver/module
    then reboot....
    also look at this this info was gleened from this http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=54886
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    2
    I figure out now, my LAN CARD wasnt support the Linux Ubuntu. I just changed my LAN CARD then i try to ping my GATEWAY, and i was smile it has feedback.

    BTW, thanks for the reply.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,864
    Great! Now its all working properly, turn off the ICMP response in your gateway for security reasons. Script kiddies then cant tell if your server is there by pinging it.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •