Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 50
Right click on KInternet icon, under interfaces, select your wireless card. What happens when you ping google or any other website? For making sure that the ping command uses the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379

    Right click on KInternet icon, under interfaces, select your wireless card. What happens when you ping google or any other website?

    For making sure that the ping command uses the desired interface, do the following:
    Code:
    ping -I interface_name -c 4 www.google.com
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  2. #22
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    50

    Kinternet

    Kinternet gives the following error:

    Connection to local and remote server
    refused. Maybe smpppd is not running
    or you are not member of the group "dialout".
    Also check the server settings in
    the dialog "Various Settings".

    Tried around there but still no hope.

  3. #23
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    In reply to your PM, are there any interfaces in the KInternet menu? under the KInternet -> Settings -> Various settings. tell it to start on KDE startup as well as to start with the wireless interface.

    and what is the output from pinging something?
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  4. #24
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    50

    Wireless still doesn't work

    Yes I tried to uncheck the at startup option. Result: No Internet at all anymore.
    But if I start it at startup I pretty much have the same problem I can enter the various settings, but I can't select any interface, It seems as if there would be something wrong when the thing is starting up.

    If I don't start Kinternet on startup is it normal that I won't be able to use internet?
    If I close it (after it's done it's autostart) the connection still remains. Also I keep getting this error:
    Connection to local and remote server
    refused. Maybe smpppd is not running
    or you are not member of the group "dialout".
    Also check the server settings in
    the dialog "Various Settings".

    Thanks for your help.

  5. #25
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    Ok to ensure everything is the same. Try this, delete the configuration for the wired lan from yast, leaving only the wireless. Configure the wireless interface as normal and save it.

    Now, check iwconfig and if the result for access point for wlan0 is something other than 00:00:00:00:00:00, the card is connected to the AP. Now try pinging google or something. What is the result of the ping?
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  6. #26
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    50

    Wireless

    Yup, it connects to the router just fine:
    Get's the correct MAC address. No result in pinging, because no IP.
    >> dhcpcd
    'nothing happens' (ctrl +c)
    ifconfig wlan0 192.168.1.15
    > ping zum router laeuft...
    Outward ping has no result it just hangs, does nothing (ctrl +c)
    I tried with pinging a web address and an IP. Nothing, but pinging router works, so there is connection to the router.

    Also funny: As soon as I start the wireless card it instantly connects to the router, no delay, green light instantly on. But i didn't worry, because it gets the MAC of the router just fine. Also stays on the correct router chanel.

  7. #27
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    > ping zum router laeuft...
    what exactly does that part mean?

    hmm, only things i can think of are append the namserver entry to the /etc/resolv.conf file like i said a few posts ago. Also, when you setup the cards in yast, did you enter the ip address of your AP for the gateway?
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  8. #28
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    50

    Wireless still doesn't work

    Sorry, I have the same topic going on a german Linux forum,
    It means, that I can Ping the router, no problems there...

    I still can't ping behind the wireless network.

    I didn't put the IP of the Router into the gateway field. Would that do the trick? I do think I tried with and without. No result. How should it be configured?

    Also:
    [qoute] >
    hmm, only things i can think of are append the namserver entry to the /etc/resolv.conf file like i said a few posts ago. [br]
    >>If it is the host not found error, add the following line to the /etc/resolv.conf file as root:
    Code:
    nameserver ip_address_of_your_ap [/qoute]
    Do I have to use the the IP of the DNS of the Router or the IP of the router?

    Let me know when you've got an idea, I'm pretty much gone crazy about that thing and my girlfriend isn't talking to me anymore, because the only thing I can think of is that **** wireless. We were in a restaurant yesterday and I was writing down things I might try on a napkin.

  9. #29
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    50

    Wireless DHCP Something new came up!!!

    It's more dramatic than anything I've ever experienced:
    Still I don't get an IP, BUT I can now see, that I'm connected to the wireless router!
    When I look at the router config from a third party computer, then I can see my wireless MAC Address being connected on the router!!
    Just guys please how can I make the stupid card accept an IP from my wireless router?
    DHCPCD doesn't do the job and nothing else works.

    I also checked the resolv.conf the line for the nameserver is already in there, but it still doesn't work.

    Any news?
    Thanks, Chris

  10. #30
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    try running:
    Code:
    ifup wlan0
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •