Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm extremely new to Red Hat 9, so bear with me. I'm trying to get my Red Hat install to work with 2 NICs. One activates, the other doesn't. And, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

2 NIC in 1 System

I'm extremely new to Red Hat 9, so bear with me. I'm trying to get my Red Hat install to work with 2 NICs. One activates, the other doesn't. And, the one that does activate, it will not take the IP from my cable modem (though it is setup to grab an IP from the DHCP). My Windows XP box it without any problems.

What I'm trying to achieve is to create a firewall on the Red Hat box, one NIC will be connected to the cable modem and the other to a hub. Hopefully, I'll learn enough to help others here....

Thanks for any and all help!

Cheers!
    John

Are both the network cards using the same chipset? If so, it can be quite an adventure getting the right one in software config.

Use the redhat network tool in RH9 ('redhat-config-network') to configure the network interfaces, turn them both onto DHCP, plug the one you want as your external interface into your cable modem, reboot (or restart your networking layer with 'service network restart'), and see which one is given an IP address. You can configure your way out from there.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

Just Joined!
    Hi john,
    Acording to you, one of the tow NICs is not working. Have you checked whether redhat supports that particular H/w or not? If it supports, check whether RH9 detects it during boot up or not.

Thanks and Regards,
    Deepak

Linux Guru
    Quote Originally Posted by Roxoff
    Are both the network cards using the same chipset? If so, it can be quite an adventure getting the right one in software config.