Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
Hi guys, I am new to this forum and new to Linux world. Somehow i managed to install Fedora Core - 2 on my PC. I took Dataone Broadband Connection ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    India
    Posts
    8

    Dataone BSNL Modem/Router Configuration/Install/Connection


    Hi guys,

    I am new to this forum and new to Linux world. Somehow i managed to install Fedora Core - 2 on my PC. I took Dataone Broadband Connection last month and was unable to connect to the Internet from Linux (Working on my XP).

    BSNL gave ADSL Modem/Router (Huawei SmartAX MT882) which has to be connect to the computer via Usb. I have my Username and Password.

    How do i configure this Modem in Linux and how to connect. Can anyone please help me...........................

    Thanx in advance.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5
    Hi Raghu,

    In kernel 2.6, when u plug the usb modem, linux detect it also as a ethernet device eth0, eth1,....
    #dmesg | grep usb
    configure the eth? device
    ifconfig eth? 192.168.1.100 up

    try a ping on gateway198.168.1.1, if it works thats it u can use router+modem config page
    http://198.168.1.1 to set up yout passwd/username and connect to internet.
    If u have a ethernet card, its very ease to config as well.

    Regards,
    Hari

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    India
    Posts
    8
    Hi Hari....

    Thanx for ur Reply.

    But while configuring Ethernet i am getting an error for IFCONFIG.


    -bash : ifconfig : bad command

    Other basic network commands like adsl-start, adsl-stop are also not working.

    Bye
    Raghu.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5
    I guess the path is not added to the ifconfig file. try where ifconfig,
    it should b in sbin directory.

    You can fire a mail to hari77gct@gmail.com as well.

    Cheers,
    Hari

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    3

    In Fed4

    I also have the same problem...
    the modem got detected perfectly but i am not able to install the drivers for it. The driver given is for an older kernel 2.4 i think.
    i am using fedora core 4 and its detecting it as an ethernet..
    Is there anyway to configure..

    I tried to get latest drivers but was not able to...


    Plz help...

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    India
    Posts
    8
    Hi Sarath,

    U can PM to angara_raghunandan@yahoo.com.....

    What is the Modem Model.....is it 880 or 882.

    Cheers,
    Raghu.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    3
    Its 882..
    Can u help me configure this....

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    India
    Posts
    8
    Ya Man,

    Mine also 882(Connected Via USB). I have tried to configure in many ways. The modem is detected and i have installed latest rp-pppoe-3.6, but after that, if i give adsl-start..........it just gives following......

    "...............TIMEOUT".

    I think 880 can be configured in Linux; Hence now they have stopped giving these 882's.

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1
    I want to know how to configure the SmartAX MT882 to use PPPoE so that it can be used as a router. When I go and change the mode to Router, I can not connect to internet.

    Mahesh

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    30
    hello guys, i too have a dataone connection and i too tried connecting to the modem through the usb port. All my efforts went in vain. Finally i bought a lan card and connected the modem. Linux doesnt offer good support for connecting modems through the usb port, because that is not the standard way of doing things. So it is better to buy a lan card. They hardly cost 300-400 bucks. And they make life a lot easier. By the way my modem is MT882.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •