Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
Hey, I recently (i.e. today) built a computer and have installed Ubuntu on it, I also have a computer with Windows XP installed on it. This is my setup: ***************** ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    123

    Why is the internet not working in Linux?


    Hey,

    I recently (i.e. today) built a computer and have installed Ubuntu on it, I also have a computer with Windows XP installed on it.

    This is my setup:
    *****************
    ******Router******
    *****///***\\\*****
    ***PC1 **** PC2***
    ******************

    The asterisks are there to put emphasise on the router and PCs.

    PC1 = Computer with Ubuntu installed on it.
    PC2 = Computer with Windows installed on it.
    Router = Router...

    Basically, my modem is connected to my router which has two cables coming out of it, one to PC1 and one to PC2.

    The internet on Windows XP is working fine but the internet on Ubuntu doesn't work.

    Here's the settings on Windows XP:
    Code:
    Windows IP Configuration
    
            Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : FAMILY
            Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
            Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
            IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
            WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    
            Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
            Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC
            Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-F4-82-C6-58
            Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
            IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 82.42.16.130
            Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
            Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 82.42.16.1
            DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 62.30.0.39
                                                195.188.53.175
    I've tried setting the Networking settings on Ubuntu to match these but that failed.

    Could somebody tell me where I've gone wrong or how to fix it. Also, if anybody has a link to website on how I can learn what's going on (I searched on Google but couldn't find anything relevant to me).

    Thanks
    Tom

  2. #2
    Linux User Stefann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    340
    Are you entering the same IP address that is shown in the Windows IPCONFIG settings???
    Nothing is worse than ten penguins fighting over which is better, vi or emacs.
    Registered Linux User #404402
    Finally I'm back on LF after a long while.

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    123
    Not the same IP address, I enter one above on the last section, i.e. 82.42.16.131

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User Stefann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    340
    I am guessing you have a DSL connection and static IP correct? I am assuming this as DHCP is disabled.
    Nothing is worse than ten penguins fighting over which is better, vi or emacs.
    Registered Linux User #404402
    Finally I'm back on LF after a long while.

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    123
    Before I started messing with this I connected by DHCP.

    In all honesty I don't know whether I'm on DSL, I'm on Blueyonder Broadband and my connection is at least 1MB (could be 4MB now, they keep saying they've upgraded).

  7. #6
    Linux User Stefann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    340
    Did it work when it was using DHCP????
    Nothing is worse than ten penguins fighting over which is better, vi or emacs.
    Registered Linux User #404402
    Finally I'm back on LF after a long while.

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    123
    Without the router I was able to connect to the internet using DHCP, however, I thought once a router was involved I needed to change to Static IP... is this wrong?

    Do the subnet masks and default gateways need to be equal (on both computers)?

  9. #8
    Linux User Stefann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    340
    Quote Originally Posted by TomX
    Without the router I was able to connect to the internet using DHCP, however, I thought once a router was involved I needed to change to Static IP... is this wrong?

    Do the subnet masks and default gateways need to be equal (on both computers)?
    Yes Subnet masks and gateways need to be enabled on both, and out of curiosity how many static IP's do you have, and do you know what they are???
    Nothing is worse than ten penguins fighting over which is better, vi or emacs.
    Registered Linux User #404402
    Finally I'm back on LF after a long while.

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    123
    Hmm, I don't know how many static IPs I have (I always though I had 256, all integers from 0 to 256 :S), how could I check this?

    All the information I know in terms of this problem is in the first post which I got from running "ipconfig /all" in WinXP.

  11. #10
    Linux User Stefann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    340
    Quote Originally Posted by TomX
    Hmm, I don't know how many static IPs I have (I always though I had 256, all integers from 0 to 256 :S), how could I check this?

    All the information I know in terms of this problem is in the first post which I got from running "ipconfig /all" in WinXP.
    Wow, you wish you had tha many Static IP's, but I HIGHLY doubt it, the only way to check is to contact support from your ISP.
    Nothing is worse than ten penguins fighting over which is better, vi or emacs.
    Registered Linux User #404402
    Finally I'm back on LF after a long while.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •