Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
Hi.. I installde ndiswrapper and i installed the driver from windows, and i think it was done correctly since it tells me. bcmwl5 driver present, hardware present but i dont ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    11

    What is my deviceid for the wireless card??


    Hi.. I installde ndiswrapper and i installed the driver from windows, and i think it was done correctly since it tells me.

    bcmwl5 driver present, hardware present

    but i dont know how to configure the card to connect!
    i thought i would do the:

    ndiswrapper -d deviceid driver

    but i dont know the deviceid!
    is this even what im supposed to be doing??
    I'm using mandrake 10.0, just in case it matters
    can someone help me??

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    It's probably:
    Code:
    eth1
    or
    Code:
    wlan0

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    11

    conection?

    Ok thanks, i think i did that already..
    Now... how do i connect to the internet??
    I'm new, so bare with me...
    Nooow.. i want to connect to the internet..
    There is this New Connection option in Mandrake, but when I go there.. it asks me what type of connection, SO i choose wireless... Then it asks me which driver i want to use, and it gives me a list.. But the driver i installed in ndiswrapper doesn't appear there..

    Is there another way to setup a connection?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Code:
    ifconfig eth1 up
    or
    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    depending on which one you have.
    Then do:
    Code:
    dhcpcd wlan0
    or eth1, depends.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    11

    not quite working

    OK... my bad for not saying exactly what i did.
    with
    ndiswrapper --help, it said the devid is the PCIID or USBID, and i got the PCIID, so this is what is did.

    ndiswrapper -d 14e0.3244.3 bcmwl5
    **(dont remember the id but something like that)

    and it apparently worked, but in /dev there is no file or device called eth1 or wlan0.
    so when i do

    ifconfig wlan0 up

    it tells me it doesnt exist.. now when i also did

    ndiswrapper -m

    and i dont remember exactly what it said. but is said something about an ALIAS wlan0

  7. #6
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Network devices don't have /dev entries. What does
    Code:
    ifconfig -a
    say?

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    11
    sorry.. i said i was new.. hehe.. this is what i got...
    one more thing, im not sure if it it's relevant or not but, when the computer boots, there is a part where it says

    bringing up interface eth0 [failed]
    **(might not be the exact message, sorry im not accurate)


    root@localhost leon]# ifconfig -a
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0F:1F:2BEE
    inet6 addr: fe80::20f:1fff:fe2b:dede/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:5 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:5
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:398 (398.0 b)
    Interrupt:11

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:70 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:70 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:4594 (4.4 Kb) TX bytes:4594 (4.4 Kb)

    sit0 Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
    NOARP MTU:1480 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

  9. #8
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    How many net interfaces do you have on this box?

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    11
    well, im not quite sure what you mean..
    i have a LAN card, which i think is the eth0
    and i have a wireless network card.. thatīs it..
    i also have a modem...
    is that what you were asking me?

  11. #10
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Well then the module for ndiswrapper hasn't been properly added...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •