Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi! I am new to this and a bit confused about which settings to use when connecting to a WLAN. I have a NetGear MR814v2 router and a Sparklan WL-311F ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    pir
    Just Joined!

How do I set up an encrypted WLAN?

Hi!

I am new to this and a bit confused about which settings to use when connecting to a WLAN.

I have a NetGear MR814v2 router and a Sparklan WL-311F card and am using Suse10.

If I use a program called LWifiManager it gets a signal and finds the access point to my network. But when I click th "Scan for Networks" button it says that no network is found. I can see how the signal is getting weaker if I move away from the router with my laptop. But I cant ping the network. At least not if I use address I need to admin the router.

Does this mean that the card doesn't work or that the card works but it is denied access to the router because I am using wrong encryption key?

If the card work, how do I set up the card so it uses the right encryoption settings?

I have searched the internet for tips and tutorials about hor to set up a keys and such but cant find any.
    Any suggestions where I can find information about this? I dont know where to start.

(The network is working wireless with Windows XP)

/pir

firstly, what os are you using,e.g. suse mandriva etc, might be able to help you if you know

andy
    SLOMO: acer extensa 5235 2.2ghz,2gb ram 160gb hdd wireless
    SPEEDY: homebrew desktop,Amd x2 dualcore,2gb ram,500gb +1tb( 2x500gb) hdd suse 11.3,32mb fibreline
    registered linux user #401845

pir
    Just Joined!

Which OS I use.

I'm new to Linux so I'm not sure of the names of the different komponents in the system. But I use KDE, if that is not a too stupid answer.
    (I thought that KDE was a kind of Shell to SUSE which is the Operating System.)