Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
I'm real happy because i've got internet in my room, but only under knoppix. I've got slackware installed and i would like to use internet in that but it won't ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User Game master pro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, australia
    Posts
    274

    Can't get internet in my room under slackware


    I'm real happy because i've got internet in my room, but only under knoppix. I've got slackware installed and i would like to use internet in that but it won't work, i'll tell you more about it now

    I've got a broadband connection. And my modem has USB and Ethernet connections. My dads computer with winxp is connected via USB. And i've got a 20m long network cable connected to the modem and this computer. I can access the internet fine if i boot into knoppix (which i'm on now) but not in slackware it just goes Unknown host www.google.com if i try to go to google in konqueror. Also i tried asking on IRC, but it won't llet me connect

    Unknow host irc.freenode.net, maybe you mispelled it?

    or something like that, in x-chat. Can someone help?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    can you ping a site or another computer using its ip address? e.g. for google, try this:
    Code:
    ping -c 4 66.102.7.99
    If that is the case, edit your /etc/resolv.conf file and add the following entry to it:
    Code:
    nameserver address_of_the_dns_server
    In most cases entering the address of the router or gateway as the nameserver should solve the problem.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  3. #3
    Linux User Game master pro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, australia
    Posts
    274
    Ok thanks, i'll try pinging it later.

    about the dns server bit, how do i find out what it is, because i don't know

  4. #4
    Linux User Game master pro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, australia
    Posts
    274
    Ok, i try pinging it and it just goes "Network is unreachable" and on this comp (winxp) i typed ipconfig /all and got the dns server is "10.0.0.138" so i type nameserver 10.0.0.138 and it just says -bash: nameserver: command not found so i logged in as root and did it, same thing. Any ideas?

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    136
    my first question would be does slackware even see your ehternet card?

    edit: you are in IRC ... i will try you there
    Old Skewl - AMD Athlon XP 1600+ / 512mb / 160gb / nVidia GeForce 4 4800ti 128mb / openSUSE 10.0 / 2.6.13-15 / (puter geek . linux noob)

  6. #6
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    nameserver is not a command. You add the "nameserver whatever" (without the quotes) in the /etc/resolv.conf file.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  7. #7
    Linux User Game master pro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, australia
    Posts
    274
    Nope, still didn't do anything, how do i check my nameserver thingy?

  8. #8
    Linux User Game master pro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, australia
    Posts
    274
    *bumpness*

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer psic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    1,205
    I think just running DHCP might do the trick... Try running 'netconfig' as root and select 'DHCP' when asked. You might have to restart...
    Stumbling around the 'net:
    www.cloudyuseful.com

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    What's the make and model of your NIC? If it works with Knoppix out of the box, it shouldn't be that hard to get it up and running with Slack.
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •