Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hey everybody. I'm using a static IP for the first time in linux, instead of DHCP. Everything is working fine except, well like, I can ping ip addresses but not ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sterling, VA
    Posts
    100

    DNS


    Hey everybody. I'm using a static IP for the first time in linux, instead of DHCP.

    Everything is working fine except, well like, I can ping ip addresses but not something like www.google.com. I supposed I need to direct linux to a dns server.

    I'm using just a base install of ubuntu, no x windows or anything.

    How would I go about doing that?

    Thanks,
    - EndianX -

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    326
    edit your /etc/resolv.conf

    add in the IP addresses of your ISP's DNS or Nameservers (same thing)
    it should be in the following format. mine points to the Broadband router on my network, which forwards the request to the ISP..

    cat /etc/resolv.conf

    nameserver 192.168.1.1


    you should be good to go after fixing that file.
    far...out

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sterling, VA
    Posts
    100
    Thanks for the reply. Something else must be wrong.

    host www.google.com gets me
    Code:
    www.google.com is an alias for www.l.google.com.
    www.l.google.com has address 64.233.187.99
    www.l.google.com has address 64.233.187.104
    www.google.com is an alias for www.l.google.com.
    www.google.com is an alias for www.l.google.com.
    That is probably right. But I can't ping outside my network. I must have something else set up wrong

    Code:
    endianx@sumo:/etc$ ping www.google.com
    connect: Network is unreachable
    Code:
    endianx@sumo:/etc$ ping 64.233.187.99
    connect: Network is unreachable
    Any ideas? I can ping my router, but not my ISP. Does that definitly mean its a problem with my router do you think?

    Thanks,
    - EndianX -

  4. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    414
    Have you configured your router to allow icmp?
    registered linux user: 387197

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sterling, VA
    Posts
    100
    Yes. I can ping out from other machines. This whole things is so strange. Some network stuff works, and some doesn't.

    I found this: http://www.linuxheadquarters.com/how...rkconfig.shtml

    I'm going to play with that stuff as much as possible.

    Could anybody list any network related files or utilities (non x-windows) that I should look into?

    Thanks,
    - EndianX -

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sterling, VA
    Posts
    100
    From /etc/network/interfaces
    Code:
    # The primary network interface
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    Does that mean I am set to DHCP? How would I change this to allow for a static ip?

    Will ifconfig -a eth0 192.168.1.254 take me out of dhcp mode?
    - EndianX -

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sterling, VA
    Posts
    100
    Ok, it turned out to be a gateway problem. sorry to bother ya.
    - EndianX -

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •