Find the answer to your Linux question:
I recently installed slackware 4.0 on an old 486DX2 computer that I have in the basement. And with my surprise it runs quite well. I planned to use this system ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

setting up an ISA nic card

I recently installed slackware 4.0 on an old 486DX2 computer that I have in the basement. And with my surprise it runs quite well. I planned to use this system to serve web pages on my local network for testing purposes only.

I am quite new to Linux let alone setting up an ISA nic on an old computer running Linux. I presume I will have to set up a lot of the settings manually in order for it to work. I know the nic card worked under Windows 95 with some tweaking with the IRQ's but I donít remember them off hand. This was many years ago.

So my question is.. How would I go about doing this? I presume that I would need to know the ip address of the computer, the subnet mask and gateway. I do know the subnet mask and the gateway, but I donít know the ip address my router would assign the computer thatís running Linux considering that different computers are on at different times. So I would also presume that no ip address is static correct?

I am currently under my main computer running windows xp.
    My network settings are as follows

IP address: 192.168.0.100
    subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
    default gateway: 192.168.0.1

To make things more complicated, I have 5 computers on my network. But at any given time only 2 or at most 3 are running. I have to have the computers downstairs connected through a switch, which in turn is connected to my router upstairs due to the fact that my router only has 4 ports and I needed that extra port for the 5th computer.