Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 27 of 27
Originally Posted by Dapper Dan Or are you coming to us from another O.S.? Wah, an alien :o! (just kidding)...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431

    Quote Originally Posted by Dapper Dan
    Or are you coming to us from another O.S.?
    Wah, an alien :o!

    (just kidding)

  2. #22
    Linux User George Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pepperland
    Posts
    445


    Almost forgot about this thread, sorry.

    Well, ends up I did blow out my onboard network which is kind of annoying. No matter, I just installed a 3Com NIC and reinstalled slackware and it worked, it's nice because it automatically worked with slack's dinosaur 2.4.x kernel it uses by default. I was really losing hope there for a bit, what I needed to do was to sleep on it and get back to the problem another day. It took me hours of yelling in my room and constant plugging/unplugging ethernet cords in the switch, ends up the problem was easily diagnosed once I was calm and clear headed.
    Registered Linux user #393103

  3. #23
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Glad you got it sorted! Are you gonna upgrade to the 2.6 kernel?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  4. #24
    Linux User George Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pepperland
    Posts
    445
    Yep, just installed the 2.6.10 testing/ kernel from the second disc. I don't have a 10.2 iso cd, only a 10.1 cd so that was the testing kernel I put on. I did upgrade to 10.2 through swaret though. I used to complain about the lack of a real package manager in slackware but after browsing through linuxpackages.net and finding swaret I'm finding that slack is actually quite spiffy. I'm just glad I got my network up and running. A few days ago I had actually installed ubuntu back on (which was on my 20GB drive before my onboard net failed) and things were going great until I wrecked xorg by clearing out my /tmp I'm just glad I put Slack on, it feels nostalgic but very safe and stable.
    Registered Linux user #393103

  5. #25
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    41
    Glad you got it working. I was going to input that it sounds like an NIC issue. I'm surprised that happened though. With running a server, and going through about 5GB of bandwidth in a week, I never had a NIC mess up on me other than when I had it half installed.

    You didn't actually install XP SP2 did you?

  6. #26
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Quote Originally Posted by George Harrison
    I used to complain about the lack of a real package manager in slackware but after browsing through linuxpackages.net and finding swaret I'm finding that slack is actually quite spiffy.... I'm just glad I put Slack on, it feels nostalgic but very safe and stable.
    There's a real solid and stable feeling to Slackware that makes you feel.... secure? I don't know why exactly but Slackware just has a special feeling of dependability about it that I've never experienced with any other distro including Gentoo. I've never used swaret but have been happy with slapt-get. Last night, I downloaded PocketLinux which is based on Slackware 10.1. It uses slackpkg. I believe they're going the route of limited apps like Ubuntu which I think is a good idea. Since you also like Ubuntu, PoxketLinux may be one you'd like to burn as well.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  7. #27
    Linux User George Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pepperland
    Posts
    445
    cool, thanks guys.

    heh, funny story. I did almost isntall XP, I actually had it in setup and I almosted formatted the drive as NTFS but I just couldn't do it. So, I just grabbed the old NIC and threw it in there, tis a shame as I only have three PCI ports and I had to remove my TV card
    Registered Linux user #393103

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •