Find the answer to your Linux question:
Firstly thanks for all the help I am abou to recieve. I am a newbie to Linux (< 1 week) and I have attempted to read all previous threads for ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Problems establishing a network

Firstly thanks for all the help I am abou to recieve. I am a newbie to Linux (< 1 week) and I have attempted to read all previous threads for this problem I am having.

My Hardware

Compaq Presrio 1200 Laptop
    CPU P3 650
    128 MB ram pc 100
    Cyberblade 4 MB video card
    Xircom Credit card ethernet 10/100 pci card
    Motorola surfboard cable modem

Note I previously had Windows XP running on above system with internet working fine. Have formated HDD and installed new OS

OS

Mandrake 10.1
    BPAlogin 2.0.2.1 i386 RPM installed
    No other third party software installed

Problem

I am unable to get a network connection established. During the installation and configuration of the OS, (in particular the internet set up phase) it appeared to detect my Xircom ethernet card and labled it as "eth0 xircom CE-3 - 10/100 fast ethernet".

Once OS installed and configured, using a tutorial from "sourceforge.net" and "Australian Linux Journal" I attempted to set up a new network connection using the Mandrakelinux Control Centre > Network & internet > New Connection > Cable Connection.

The next screen displays the message "Net Device" Manually load driver
    It then displays a list of various PCI cards, my particular card is not listed . I have tried several cards types 'xirc2ps_cs', 'xircom_cb' and 'pcnet_cs'... however when I click "next", a message is quickly displayed (too fast to read) and It returns to the previous screen. I have tried this with the OS install CD's in the CDROM still no difference.