Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
I've succesfully set up a Wireless home network using Belkin hardware. The network is functional on a Windows machine (the machine I'm posting this from) but the Linux box up ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Posts
    64

    Network Trouble


    I've succesfully set up a Wireless home network using Belkin hardware. The network is functional on a Windows machine (the machine I'm posting this from) but the Linux box up the stairs is not as functional.

    I'm using ndiswrapper to control the wireless adapter pci card. The card can see the network and can be pinged from the Windows machine. The Linux machine cannot browser the web, receive emails or ping either the router or the Windows machine.

    I'm guessing that I need to configure Linux to use this network connection but I'm not too sure how. Any help greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    Could you post the output of:
    Code:
    ifconfig
    route -n
    for your Linux machine.
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Posts
    64
    ifconfig
    Code:
    lo  Link encap: Local loopback
        inet eddr: 127.0.0.1 Mask 255.0.0.0
        UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric: 1
        Rx packets: 60 errors: 0 dropped: 0 overruns: 0 frame: 0
        Tx packets: 60 errors: 0 dropped: 0 overruns: 0 frame: 0
        collisions: 0 txqueuelen: 0
        Rx bytes: 4892(4.7kb) Tx bytes: 4892(4.7kb)
    
    wlan0  Link encap: Ethernet HWaddr 00:11:50:8F:4B:6G
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU: 1500 Metric: 1
              Rx Packets: 190 errors: 0 dropped: 0 overruns: 0 frame: 0
              collisions: 0 txqueuelen: 1000
              Rx bytes: 28508(27.8kb) Tx bytes: 0(0kb)
              Interrupt: 3 Memory: feafe000 - feb00000
    route -n
    Code:
    Kernel IP Routing Table
    Destination    Gateway    Genmask    Flags    Metric    Ref    Use    Iface
    127.0.0.0      0.0.0.0       255.0.0.0    U         0           0       0       lo

  4. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    369
    first of all run the following as root.

    Code:
    dhclient
    check ifconfig to see if you have got an address.

    if not first of all run as root the following
    Code:
    ifconfig -a wlan0 ipaddress subnet address
    change ip address for the ip you want to give the system, and change subnet address for the subnet of the network.

    then
    Code:
    route add 0 ip of the router
    replace ip of the router with the ip address that the router has

    to config dns run
    Code:
    echo ip of router > /etc/resolv.conf
    yet again use the ip of your router
    All i want for christmas is a new liver....a second chance to get afflicted with Cirrhosis

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Posts
    64

    Smile

    ifconfig route -n gives:

    Code:
    -n: Unknown host
    dhclient gives:
    Code:
    bash: dhclient: Command not found.
    ifconfig -a gives:
    Code:
    SIOCSIFADDR: Invalid Argument
    Bailz.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •