Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Hi guys! I have tried to get my D-Link DWL-G650 working using Madwifi. But altough I followed the "How to: Simple Installation of Madwifi in Fedora Core 4 (for Atheros ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2

    DWL-650 and Madwifi problem


    Hi guys!

    I have tried to get my D-Link DWL-G650 working using Madwifi.
    But altough I followed the "How to: Simple Installation of Madwifi in Fedora Core 4 (for Atheros chipped cards)", which I found in another great Linux forum , I still can't get it to work.
    It is still not listed under "devices" in network properties.

    I am sure that I have used the correct rpm:s for my kernel and processor.
    I am using Fedora Core 4 and my kernel is 2.6.14-1.1656_FC4, I also have one more nic in my laptop, it is a built-in wired card, which I am using now as long as I can't get the
    wireless one to work. Can this have anything to do with my problem?

    Thanks!

    /Henke

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    369
    can you run lspci as root and show us the entry for wireless card. Also could you run dmesg and post information which the mad wifi drivers give please
    All i want for christmas is a new liver....a second chance to get afflicted with Cirrhosis

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by winter
    can you run lspci as root and show us the entry for wireless card. Also could you run dmesg and post information which the mad wifi drivers give please
    It's a bit strange, I don't see the wireless card here:

    00:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 Host Bridge (rev a4)
    00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 LPC Bridge (rev a6)
    00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation nForce3 SMBus (rev a4)
    00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 USB 1.1 (rev a5)
    00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 USB 1.1 (rev a5)
    00:02.2 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 USB 2.0 (rev a2)
    00:06.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 Audio (rev a2)
    00:06.1 Modem: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 00d9 (rev a2)
    00:08.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation nForce3 IDE (rev a5)
    00:0a.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 PCI Bridge (rev a2)
    00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 AGP Bridge (rev a4)
    00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
    00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
    00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
    00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV17 [GeForce4 420 Go 32M] (rev a3)
    02:01.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
    02:04.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1620 PC Card Controller (rev 01)
    02:04.1 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1620 PC Card Controller (rev 01)
    02:04.2 System peripheral: Texas Instruments PCI1620 Firmware Loading Function (rev 01)

    /Henke

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    369
    dont look like its been picked up by the pcmcia deamon, first of all check your services to see if the pcmcia deamon is up.

    The atheros card I use shows the following:

    Code:
    02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications, Inc. AR5212 802.11abg NIC (rev 01)
    Grated mine is a NEC card but it uses the atheros chipset. A atheros card usally displays the above line in lspci.
    All i want for christmas is a new liver....a second chance to get afflicted with Cirrhosis

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •