Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
My network card appears to have an identity crisis! I'm running SuSe 10.0 and have a network card with a realtek 8139 chipset, now I'm certain it is that because ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    414

    network card not detected.... sort of


    My network card appears to have an identity crisis!

    I'm running SuSe 10.0 and have a network card with a realtek 8139 chipset, now I'm certain it is that because it's got it written on the chip. However Yast is trying to tell me it's a 3com 905B chipset, likewise KDE control says similar.

    Looking at Yast --> Hardware --> Hardware Infomation --> Network Card it says; 3C905B Fast Etherlink XL 10/100

    Looking in KDE Menu --> System --> Monitor --> PCI I get the same thing, however there is also several lines saying
    Code:
     
    Class 0282: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.: Unknown Device 81bb (rev 10)
    !!! Invalid class 0282 for header type 02
    Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 64, IRQ 11
    I/O Ports at <ignored> [disabled]
    Bus: primary=00, secondary=00, subordinate=82, sec-latency=0
    To me this shows that it does recognise that there is something with the RTL-8139 chipset, it just hasn't worked out that's my network card.

    ifconfig eth0 brings up this
    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:C0:4F:9B:DD:2B
              inet6 addr: fe80::2c0:4fff:fe9b:dd2b/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
              Interrupt:11 Base address:0xdc00
    And if I ping the router I get this
    Code:
    connect: Network is unreachable
    Anyone got any idea how I can get the card working? Somehow or other i need to convince the system that the card isn't what it thinks it is.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    what does lspci return regarding the chipset (you need root permissions to run it)?
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    414
    lspci gives out this
    Code:
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX Host bridge (rev 03)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX AGP bridge (rev 03)
    00:07.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ISA (rev 02)
    00:07.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE (rev 01)
    00:07.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 USB (rev 01)
    00:07.3 Bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI (rev 02)
    00:0d.0 Multimedia video controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Video Capture (rev 11)
    00:0d.1 Multimedia controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Audio Capture (rev 11)
    00:0e.0 Communication controller: Conexant HSF 56k HSFi Modem (rev 01)
    00:0f.0 PCI bridge: Digital Equipment Corporation DECchip 21152 (rev 03)
    00:11.0 Ethernet controller: 3Com Corporation 3c905B 100BaseTX [Cyclone] (rev 24)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc 3D Rage Pro AGP 1X/2X (rev 5c)
    02:09.0 Class 0282: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.: Unknown device 81bb (rev 10)
    02:09.1 Class 0282: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.: Unknown device 81bb (rev 10)
    02:09.2 Class 0282: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.: Unknown device 81bb (rev 10)
    02:09.3 Class 0282: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.: Unknown device 81bb (rev 10)
    02:09.4 Class 0282: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.: Unknown device 81bb (rev 10)
    02:09.5 Class 0282: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.: Unknown device 81bb (rev 10)
    02:09.6 Class 0282: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.: Unknown device 81bb (rev 10)
    02:09.7 Class 0282: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.: Unknown device 81bb (rev 10)
    BTW, just booted up in Winoze XP, and got the same problem (Well it tells me there's a network cable disconnected in one place, and device is not connected in another area). Could be that the card is FUBAR?

  4. #4
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    Does XP detect the card at all in its Hardware Profiles? Also, from lspci, it does seem to look like you have a 3com chipset:
    00:11.0 Ethernet controller: 3Com Corporation 3c905B 100BaseTX [Cyclone] (rev 24)

    But the multiple instances of realtek does kind of look wierd. Do you have multiple ethernet cards on your system?

    If XP doesn't show the card correctly in Hardware Manager then it could be FUBAR....
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  5. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    414
    XP detects it as a 3C918 (3C905B TX compatible) and even after trying differant drivers it still won't work with it (network cable unplugged - which it definitely isn't).

    No there isn't multiple ethernet cards on my system, just this one. I might see if i can get another card and see if the problem is still there. If a new card works I'll know the problem is with the card, otherwise I'll know the problem is elsewhere.

  6. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    414
    The comment of multiple ethernet cards got me thinking, so I opened up the case for a look, turns out there is one built into the motherboard - didn't think to check there - so i pulled out the Realtek card, removed the cover from the LAN socket, put everything together and plugged it in and all is working wonderfully.
    Thanx for giving me the tip off Alex!

  7. #7
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    No problem, glad to hear you got it working.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1

    Having trouble with the rtl8139

    Hi guys i know this is a pretty old post but i found it while searching for a solution to the problem i am facing
    well have a braodband connection...
    and have a static ip assigned.
    the thing is i have loaded suse 10 and am not able to connect to the network
    when i do if config it shows is the lo loopback thing
    and when i do the ifconfig -a
    it shows the eth0 but nothing else.
    i am using a HP laptop, the presario 2000 series laptop..
    i have dual O/s windows/ Suse...
    can you guys help me out in this

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •