Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I have a Linksys WUSB54G wireless network adapter. I have gotten it to work 4 other times, however, I just updated Mepis and I got all my drivers loaded with ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    kbk
    kbk is offline
    Linux User kbk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    361

    Iwconfig doesn't find wlan0


    I have a Linksys WUSB54G wireless network adapter. I have gotten it to work 4 other times, however, I just updated Mepis and I got all my drivers loaded with ndiswrapper, but when I try to configure the device, and type
    Code:
    iwconfig wlan0 essid my_essid
    it says wlan0 isn't there. How do I get it to show up?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    are the drivers installed? have you done ndiswrapper -m & modprobe ndiswrapper?
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  3. #3
    kbk
    kbk is offline
    Linux User kbk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    361
    I didn't do -m but I did modprobe. Yes the drivers are installed, I installed all of them taht have anything to do with my device, just in case (it worked before, so I know it should work now).

    Edit: That didn't work. What now?

  4. #4
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    hmm, this is strange. Look in the /etc/modprobe.d directory and is there a file called ndiswrapper there? If not, try creating a file called ndiswrapper with:
    alias wlan0 ndiswrapper
    Other than that, I don't know what could be the problem. If that doesn't work, try starting again with ndiswrapper and see if that helps.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  5. #5
    kbk
    kbk is offline
    Linux User kbk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    361
    Starting again did help . However, I still can't get a connection. All my settings seem fine except I'm not sure if my IP address is right. I think the IP address for that computer and this one are different, and I don't know how to find out what that one is.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    Is the other computer running windows? if so just run the ipconfig command and you can find the ip address of that computer.

    other than that, try pinging and see if you can see the other computer.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •