Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi I am new to linux. I have just installed ubuntu on my PC. I have been trying to get my modem to work for the past 3 days. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Angry modem will not dial out

Hi

I am new to linux. I have just installed ubuntu on my PC. I have been trying to get my modem to work for the past 3 days. I managed to install my modem, using scanModem and downloading and installing the appropriate HCF drivers. When I run wvdialconf it detects my modem and configures the wvdial.conf file. I edit this file and place my username, password and ISP number in it. Then when I type sudo wvdial it initializes the modem but it gets stuck waiting for carrier. After about 2 mins it will say no carrier and tries to dial out again. Again it will say no carrier. This continues until I hit Ctr C. If I pick up the phone I dont here the modem dialling out. Strangely if I put a p before the number I dial eg p3452462 and I pick up the phone I can hear the modem dialling out. My line is definitely not a pulse line. Please help

Thanks

personally I normally use kppp (I found that I had more control over it and a handy log window to see what was happening).

Try using minicom to talk directly to your modem (ie. open a text terminal window and (I suggest you use root - ie. enter "su -") enter minicom ).

What you'll need to do is give minicom the /dev device that represents your modem (something like /dev/ttyLT01 , it's the one that's in /etc/wvdial.conf). Do this by pressing Ctrl A (ie. the Ctrl and the A keys at the same time) and then, by itself, Z. This will give you the config menus. You want O then Serial port setup. Change the Serial Device to what it should be (/dev/ something or other). Save this as default.