Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Hello, everybody! I am new in linux world, lots of stuff need to learn. Recently, I install RHEL4 on my computer, everything went smoothly, no error report after first reboot. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    3

    Question HELP!RHEL4 cannot recognize my network card


    Hello, everybody!

    I am new in linux world, lots of stuff need to learn.

    Recently, I install RHEL4 on my computer, everything went smoothly, no error report after first reboot.
    I just cannot find my network card, there is no network hardware probed,when I check it with 'neat' command. I restart kuzdu , still not found.
    But when I switched to install Fedora core 4 on my computer, my network card is recognized.

    I am confused, and need help.
    Thanks advance.
    Bruce

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Barrie, Ontario
    Posts
    219
    Probably just a kernel module issue. What module is FC4 loading for the network card?

    Look in /etc/modprobe.conf for a line that contains 'eth0' (assuming it's for your primary network card). If you find that line, just make note of the module it's using, and then see what module RHEL is loading and make sure it's the same one.

    The line will look something like this:
    Code:
    alias [module] eth0
    For example, one of mine is:
    Code:
    alias 8139too eth0
    So I know it's loading up the Realtek 8139too module....
    Last edited by Kode; 02-23-2006 at 02:37 AM. Reason: typos
    Blog - KB5UMQ - Linux User #272983
    3 Rules:
    1) "It doesn't work..." is simply not useful information.
    2) Don't cross post!
    3) If you are asking for help, start by telling us your distro/os and version.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Kode
    Probably just a kernel module issue. What module is FC4 loading for the network card?

    Look in /etc/modprobe.conf for a line that contains 'eth0' (assuming it's for your primary network card). If you find that line, just make note of the module it's using, and then see what module RHEL is loading and make sure it's the same one.

    The line will look something like this:
    Code:
    alias [module] eth0
    For example, one of mine is:
    Code:
    alias 8139too eth0
    So I know it's loading up the Realtek 8139too module....


    Yes, I tried that, it can find my NIC now
    alias sundance eth0

    Thanks very much

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    3

    Still problem

    I did install module, but this driver sundance.ko cant be installed.
    I think it is not compatiable with RHEL4 .

    I am using Dlink DFE 550TX NIC.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •