Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
Hi, I am using SuSe 10.0 OSS x86_64 and am attempting to install ndiswrapper for my wifi-card. Which is an onboard card on the Asus A8V-E Deluxe: 88W8310 and 88W8000G ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29

    ndiswrapper problem


    Hi,

    I am using SuSe 10.0 OSS x86_64 and am attempting to install ndiswrapper for my wifi-card. Which is an onboard card on the Asus A8V-E Deluxe: 88W8310 and 88W8000G [Libertas] 802.11g client chipset (rev 07).

    I have installed ndiswrapper + kernel module sources via YaST. And succesfully installed the 64 bit driver for the libertas wifi-card. Now when I do modprobe ndiswrapper i get : FATAL: Module ndiswrapper not found.

    So it is NOT installing the ndiswrapper.ko file in /lib/modules/`uname -r`/extra.
    And since compiling from source is not an option because the source is 32 bit only.. It compiles everything until divdi3.o file it is 32 bit target only.

    Does anyone know how to fix this ? Or is it possible that someone places the ndiswrapper.ko file online for download.. I don't know if that's possible but if it is .. it'd help. But i'd much rather figure out why it does this for future notice.

    Thanks,

    Puntjuh.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Sorry this isn't actually a fix for your problem per se, but is there a particular reason you're running SuSE 64-bit? You'd likely have less trouble compiling this driver in 32-bit SuSE.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29
    yup, that's defenity true. But i'd like to get it working on suse 64bit. The only problem I have .. I think, is that the installation with the RPM that i get via YaST is that it doesn't make the ndiswrapper.ko file.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    you should be able to get a newer version of ndiswrapper compiled, however you won't be able to get wireless access as ndiswrapper will see you are running a 64-bit OS and hence will ask for a 64-bit driver. If you compile from source, it compiles for a 64 bit system and not a 32 bit system.

    You only have two choices here:
    1. See if ASUS has released a 64-bit driver and use that.
    2. Roll back to a 32-bit version of Linux.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29
    I have a 64 bit version driver for my wifi card.

    And what version of ndiswrapper do you think can be compiled for 64 bit ? I have tried the latest version that was on their sourceforge site. 1.10 source.

    Perhaps i should try the testing 1.11 rc2. If you know of any other source of ndiswrapper that can be compiled for 64bit support, i'd like to know.

    Thanks,

    Puntjuh

  6. #6
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    when you download the source code and compile it, it compiles against 64 bit libraries and kernel, so it will compile as 64 bit.

    I think 1.5 compiled on my brother's machine running 64-bit SUSE, but since the card had no 64 bit driver, I had to revert back to 32 bit.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29
    ok .. i have succesfully been able to compile a version of ndiswrapper, and wow. it has also installed the kernel module for it. Now atleast my wifi light is on and blinking. Now, i have just one more problem, i can't connect to the internet with it. Here are some outputs.

    /sbin/ifconfig:
    Code:
    dimitri:/etc/sysconfig/network # ifconfig
    eth0	  Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:11:D8:98:B4:FB
    		  inet addr:192.168.2.10  Bcast:192.168.2.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
    		  inet6 addr: fe80::211:d8ff:fe98:b4fb/64 Scope:Link
    		  UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
    		  RX packets:898 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    		  TX packets:816 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    		  collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    		  RX bytes:914088 (892.6 Kb)  TX bytes:155363 (151.7 Kb)
    		  Interrupt:50 Memory:d1000000-0
    
    lo		Link encap:Local Loopback
    		  inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
    		  inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    		  UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
    		  RX packets:51 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    		  TX packets:51 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    		  collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    		  RX bytes:3248 (3.1 Kb)  TX bytes:3248 (3.1 Kb)
    
    wlan0	 Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:11:D8:98:C8:E7
    		  inet addr:192.168.2.7  Bcast:192.168.2.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
    		  inet6 addr: fe80::211:d8ff:fe98:c8e7/64 Scope:Link
    		  UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
    		  RX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    		  TX packets:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    		  collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    		  RX bytes:310 (310.0 b)  TX bytes:922 (922.0 b)
    		  Interrupt:66 Memory:d2010000-d201ffff
    iwconfig:
    Code:
    dimitri:/etc/sysconfig/network # iwconfig
    lo		no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0	  no wireless extensions.
    
    sit0	  no wireless extensions.
    And there it just hangs!

    /sbin/lsmod
    Code:
    dimitri:/etc/sysconfig/network # /sbin/lsmod
    Module				  Size  Used by
    ndiswrapper		   207304  0
    nls_utf8				2688  0
    hfsplus				85640  0
    vfat				   15872  0
    fat					58032  1 vfat
    subfs				   9600  2
    cpufreq_ondemand		8108  1
    cpufreq_userspace	   5828  0
    cpufreq_powersave	   2304  0
    powernow_k8			12048  0
    freq_table			  5512  1 powernow_k8
    snd_pcm_oss			70432  1
    snd_mixer_oss		  22144  2 snd_pcm_oss
    snd_seq				68824  0
    button				  8736  0
    battery				12296  0
    ac					  6664  0
    ipv6				  289024  10
    nvidia			   4856148  12
    rfcomm				 44208  6
    hidp				   18688  2
    l2cap				  28296  10 rfcomm,hidp
    hci_usb				16392  6
    bluetooth			  55620  16 rfcomm,hidp,l2cap,hci_usb
    edd					12448  0
    ide_cd				 45984  0
    cdrom				  40888  1 ide_cd
    floppy				 73792  0
    sk98lin			   202092  1
    ehci_hcd			   36744  0
    snd_via82xx			33696  3
    gameport			   17808  1 snd_via82xx
    snd_ac97_codec		117188  1 snd_via82xx
    snd_ac97_bus			3328  1 snd_ac97_codec
    snd_pcm			   117260  3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_via82xx,snd_ac97_codec
    snd_timer			  29320  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
    snd_page_alloc		 13200  2 snd_via82xx,snd_pcm
    snd_mpu401_uart		 9344  1 snd_via82xx
    snd_rawmidi			31904  1 snd_mpu401_uart
    i2c_viapro			  9752  0
    i2c_core			   25752  1 i2c_viapro
    snd_seq_device		 11024  2 snd_seq,snd_rawmidi
    snd					77600  12 snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_seq,snd_via82xx,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device
    soundcore			  11808  3 snd
    uhci_hcd			   36384  0
    usbcore			   140596  5 ndiswrapper,hci_usb,ehci_hcd,uhci_hcd
    ohci1394			   36684  0
    ieee1394			  118648  1 ohci1394
    generic				 5892  0 [permanent]
    shpchp				101032  0
    pci_hotplug			31720  1 shpchp
    parport_pc			 44912  1
    lp					 14336  0
    parport				43532  2 parport_pc,lp
    dm_mod				 65648  0
    ext3				  151952  2
    jbd					72512  1 ext3
    fan					 6152  0
    thermal				17932  0
    processor			  28632  2 powernow_k8,thermal
    via82cxxx			  14384  0 [permanent]
    ide_disk			   19584  5
    ide_core			  158616  4 ide_cd,generic,via82cxxx,ide_disk
    /sbin/route -n
    Code:
    dimitri:/etc/sysconfig/network # /sbin/route -n
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination	 Gateway		 Genmask		 Flags Metric Ref	Use Iface
    192.168.2.0	 0.0.0.0		 255.255.255.0   U	 0	  0		0 eth0
    192.168.2.0	 0.0.0.0		 255.255.255.0   U	 0	  0		0 wlan0
    169.254.0.0	 0.0.0.0		 255.255.0.0	 U	 0	  0		0 eth0
    127.0.0.0	   0.0.0.0		 255.0.0.0	   U	 0	  0		0 lo
    0.0.0.0		 192.168.2.1	 0.0.0.0		 UG	0	  0		0 eth0
    192.168.2.1 is my router.

    If needed more just ask this was all i can think of right now.

    Thanks,

    puntjuh

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29
    ok i made it work .. i activated DHCP instead of static ip and ifstatus wlan0 gave me good things. It still isn't 100% correct because when i try entering a command that has to do with the wlan0 device it'll stop working.

  9. #9
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    it is kind of odd that iwconfig doesn't show an entry for wlan0. Also, you might try bringing down the wired card when messing around with wireless.

    Atleast it is sort of working..
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29
    i have installed my 64bit driver with ndiswrapper 1.8 and this works well. I can get an IP address via my DHCP server. I've set ifconfig wlan0 rate auto. For auto speed.

    Code:
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:11:D8:98:C8:E7
              inet addr:192.168.2.14  Bcast:192.168.2.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::211:d8ff:fe98:c8e7/64 Scope:Link
             UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:13 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:1546 (1.5 Kb)  TX bytes:2165 (2.1 Kb)
              Interrupt:66 Memory:d2010000-d2020000
    Code:
    dimitri:/download/ndiswrapper-1.8 # ifstatus wlan0
        wlan0     device: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88W8310 and 88W8000G [Libertas] 802.11g client chipset (rev 07)
        wlan0     configuration: wlan-bus-pci-0000:00:07.0
        wlan0     DHCP client NOT running
    5: wlan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,NOTRAILERS,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast qlen 1000
        link/ether 00:11:d8:98:c8:e7 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
        inet 192.168.2.14/24 brd 192.168.2.255 scope global wlan0
        inet6 fe80::211:d8ff:fe98:c8e7/64 scope link
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    wlan0 is up
    5: wlan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,NOTRAILERS,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast qlen 1000
        link/ether 00:11:d8:98:c8:e7 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
        inet 192.168.2.14/24 brd 192.168.2.255 scope global wlan0
        inet6 fe80::211:d8ff:fe98:c8e7/64 scope link
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
        wlan0     IP address: 192.168.2.14/24
    Configured routes for interface wlan0:
      default 192.168.2.1 - -
      169.254.0.0 - 255.255.0.0 wlan0
    Active routes for interface wlan0:
      192.168.2.0/24  proto kernel  scope link  src 192.168.2.14
    0 of 2 configured routes for interface wlan0 up
    I think the problem is that it states DHCP client not running but when i do dhcpcd wlan0 it just stays like that for minutes, but when i do dhcpcd eth0 it is ready in less then a second.

    Also, as soon as i do modprobe ndiswrapper it is impossible for me to go to YaST2 again and do network configuring. it just get's stuck at searching for network adapters.

    ifup wlan0 tends to just hang either. or i'm just very impatient but 5 minutes is rather long or not ?

    Anyway, i'm all out of ideas. this day I even installed 32 bit suse, but Asus doesn't have anymore 32 bit drivers for my motherboard. Or atleast not for the libertas wifi.

    Thanks,

    puntjuh

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •