Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15
I've got a Netgear WG511T card & still can't connect. The card sees the network but the lights keep alternately flashing like its scanning to find the network? Check out ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    18

    I've got a Netgear WG511T card & still can't connect. The card sees the network but the lights keep alternately flashing like its scanning to find the network? Check out the info returned from the 'iwconfig' command. How the the card see the network but not connected to it???

    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    sit0 no wireless extensions.

    ath0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"my network"
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.437 GHz Access Point: 00:00:00:00:00:00
    Bit Rate:0 kb/s Tx-Power:18 dBm Sensitivity=0/3
    Retry:off RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
    Power Management:off
    Link Quality=0/94 Signal level=-95 dBm Noise level=-95 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:44 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:1 Invalid misc:1 Missed beacon:2

    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$

  2. #12
    Linux User Oxygen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hartlepool, England
    Posts
    392
    Quote Originally Posted by bossdog22
    Thanks for the help AlexK. Now I have ndiswrapper compiled and I received a message stating to use iwconfig to set up the network card. However, no I'm either having syntax issues or something else is wrong. I typed in the following two lines exactly as listed:

    iwconfig wlan0 ESSID <my network name>
    iwconfig wlan0 key s:"<my network key>"

    After I entered the ESSID line the prompt continues like its waiting for something else, it didn't give me a new prompt proceed by knoppix... written in blue. After entering the key line it did the same thing and just sat there with the character '>' like its waiting. I gave it over 5 minutes but still no connection.
    I'm hoping you replaced the part that said <my network name> with the correct ESSID and removed the < and > surrounding them.
    Graham - You'd better Use Linux!

    I'm registerd Linux user #397030. What about you?

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    18
    Yeah, that's right. I went back & turned WPA, MAC filtering & all security off. You think with a wide open network I should be able to connect but still nothing. I've got to the point where both lights on the card blink together meaning its connected but can't bring up any web page at all. What next???

  4. #14
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    it still looks like you are not associated with the AP/router (the 00:00..... part in iwconfig). Try executing these commands and see if that part changes:
    Code:
    iwconfig ath0 essid my_essid mode managed
    also, what happens when you try to ping your router or any web page?
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  5. #15
    Linux User Oxygen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hartlepool, England
    Posts
    392
    Quote Originally Posted by bossdog22
    Yeah, that's right. I went back & turned WPA, MAC filtering & all security off. You think with a wide open network I should be able to connect but still nothing. I've got to the point where both lights on the card blink together meaning its connected but can't bring up any web page at all. What next???
    dhcpcd wlan0

    Graham - You'd better Use Linux!

    I'm registerd Linux user #397030. What about you?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •