Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hey, I use Samba to connect to the local Windows network, but with Suse 10 and Yast, when I try to add this computer it gives me a prompt error ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User Oxygen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hartlepool, England
    Posts
    392

    Samba Client


    Hey, I use Samba to connect to the local Windows network, but with Suse 10 and Yast, when I try to add this computer it gives me a prompt error saying, well, error! No information!

    Is there a console command I can use to get an error message?
    Graham - You'd better Use Linux!

    I'm registerd Linux user #397030. What about you?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    Is there a Windows server or something of that sort on the network? Or is it more like a peer-peer model i.e. no server, just a bunch of computers?

    If it is peer-peer, you don't have to do it via yast, if you just want to mount a share on your network, just execute this command:
    Code:
    mount -t smbfs -o username=YOUR_USERNAME,password=YOUR_SHARE_PASSWORD //host_name/share /mount_point
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  3. #3
    Linux User Oxygen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hartlepool, England
    Posts
    392
    It's a Windows server.
    Graham - You'd better Use Linux!

    I'm registerd Linux user #397030. What about you?

  4. #4
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    Hmm, a few things you can try:
    1. In the firewall, allow communications through the SMB port
    2. In smb.conf, tell it the workgroup to use.
    3. See if you can browse the network using smb:// in Konqueror, or by using something like smb4k.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  5. #5
    Linux User Oxygen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hartlepool, England
    Posts
    392
    I can browse some shares on the server, but for some reason the share that I want to access doesn't work, it says a folder in there doesn't exist and everything appears as a file, and if I access the subfolders they all don't exist.
    Graham - You'd better Use Linux!

    I'm registerd Linux user #397030. What about you?

  6. #6
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    hmm,
    this works in windows right? I'd suggest you check the permissions on the folder to see tha everyone or just people on the LAN can access it.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  7. #7
    Linux User Oxygen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hartlepool, England
    Posts
    392
    I will check that, the thing is some shares give me a login box when I try to access them, and if I login, they succesfully work! What could make it different?
    Graham - You'd better Use Linux!

    I'm registerd Linux user #397030. What about you?

  8. #8
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    the thing that could make it different is that the permission of the share could be set to local users and not network users, so that might cause a problem.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •