Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hi, when running an nmap to my WAN ip address it comes back as showing port 80 open. Is this normal? I'm not running any webserver so it has me ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    5

    nmap question.


    Hi, when running an nmap to my WAN ip address it comes back as showing port 80 open. Is this normal? I'm not running any webserver so it has me concerned. When running nmap localhost it doesn't show me serving any port 80/http request or open status. Here is the nmap of my WAN.

    root@laptop:/etc# nmap 67.190.X.x

    Starting nmap 3.81 ( http://www.insecure.org/nmap/ ) at 2006-05-18 04:06 EDT
    Interesting ports on c-67-190-X-X.hsd1.co.comcast.net (67.190.1X.X):
    (The 1662 ports scanned but not shown below are in state: closed)
    PORT STATE SERVICE
    80/tcp open http

    Nmap finished: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 1.441 seconds

  2. #2
    Just Joined! yermom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Norman, OK
    Posts
    9
    do you have a hardware router? like a Linksys or something?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    5
    Sorry it took me so long to reply. Been busy trying other distros. Back to Knoppix since I like it the best. Anyways, I'm still showing port 80 open when scanning my WAN IP address. I'm pretty sure this is because I'm running port forwarding on my router. Even though the port I'm forwarding isn't 80 I'm thinking nmap shows it open on 80 for the forwarding request. I'll need to look into this. Anyone else know?

  4. #4
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    637
    Running nmap from internal to test your external interfaces may produce erroneous results. Try running nmap from outside the network for more accurate results.

  5. #5
    Just Joined! yermom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Norman, OK
    Posts
    9
    the reason i asked is because my router's admin interface responds on port 80 from the inside of my network

    try browsing to the WAN IP in Mozilla or something

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •