Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am trying to setup a file sharing network: Suse 10.0, gnome, samba, basic NIC (192.168.1.102) l l <cat5 l --Cable Modem--Linksys BEFSR41 router (192.1681.1) l l<cat5 l Winxp, 3com ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

linux/windows network

I am trying to setup a file sharing network:

Suse 10.0, gnome, samba, basic NIC (192.168.1.102)
    l
    l <cat5
    l
    --Cable Modem--Linksys BEFSR41 router (192.1681.1)
    l
    l<cat5
    l
    Winxp, 3com Ehterlink XL 10/100 NIC (192.168.1.100)

Both machines have firewalls turned off and both are pingable from the other. THe XP pc has a shared folder setup. I have samba onthe linux box but I'm a real newb at it and linux. Can't think of any more info that might help. How can i make this work. Please keep in mind I'm more comfortable in a GUI than CLI, but I'm willing to learn. I've searched the MAN's and many forums with no real definative answers. More info needed? Just ask. Thanks in advance.

If you can ping, then you have a network. Just make sure that your default gateway for both the computers is set to 192.168.1.1 and they have the netmask of 255.255.255.0.

Then you probably want to set up Samba on the linux machine to serve files from there, take a look through the docs on that website. In fact, you might even be able to work your way through the smb.conf file, which is probably in /etc/samba to get things going - the standard file is well commented.

Start samba with '/etc/rc.d/init.d/smb start' as root.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

Which one do you want to be the file server? Or do you want to be able to be at either machine and exchange files?
    The way I do it is to mount the XP's shares in /etc/fstab

//192.168.1.2/wwwroot /mnt/vprMatrix smbfs username=<myusername>,password=<mypassword>,rw,use rs,umask=0000,uid=1000,gid=1000 0 0