Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I used KNetworkConf to setup network connection, but something goes wrong; I cannot start the networking service. I tried starting it through the kcontrol and through konsole ("/etc/init.d/networking restart"), but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    7

    problems running networking service


    I used KNetworkConf to setup network connection, but something goes wrong; I cannot start the networking service.
    I tried starting it through the kcontrol and through konsole ("/etc/init.d/networking restart"), but they both give a failed message with no explanation.

    A coworker of mine checked the settings I put (I used "KDE Network Configuration" by Sean Wheller/Christoph Eckert), and says they look OK.

    Looking through Windows, I see I have a "Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC" and a "1394 Net Adapter".

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,864
    What does it say in the logs? Take a look in /var/log/messages, it might give some clue.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    7
    Thanks, I will check it out and let you know later.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    7
    I found the file but I see nor understand much of it. If anyone is interested in analizing it, I can send it through email (too big to attach it here).

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,864
    All you need is to do a 'tail -f /var/log/messages' and while that's running do '/etc/init.d/networking restart', and post the lines that are added to the output as a result of that second command.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    7
    Good morning,
    I tried what you suggested to no avail. Then I realized there was one thing the manual I was using did not mention: The Networking Profile tab.

    I went there and set a profile. That was it. I was able to access my company's network.


    I have more things I need to set up, like two distinct winmodems (one for this Toshiba laptop and one for a Dell PC), so you'll hear from me a lot more in this forum.

    Thank you for the help.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    7
    I found another related problem: the networking service does not seem to start when I boot the system. I have to manualy restart de service even though it has the "start at booting" option on.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,864
    You probably need to turn on networking to start in your default runlevel. Take a look at the manpage for the 'chkconfig' command control this.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •