Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I installed gentoo with stage1 packeges. but after installation i have no outgoing network available. here's how i configured my networkcard: Code: ifconfig eth0 192.168.0.5 netmask 255.255.255.0 route add -net ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie robak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    136

    no network available


    I installed gentoo with stage1 packeges. but after installation i have no outgoing network available. here's how i configured my networkcard:

    Code:
    ifconfig eth0 192.168.0.5 netmask 255.255.255.0
    route add -net default gw 192.168.0.1 netmask 0.0.0.0 metric 1 eth0
    i can ping myself but not my router (192.168.0.1)
    i have an nForce2 MB with onboard realtek networkchip.
    i have the nForce-net modules installed during the gentoo-installation.

    pls help!

    thx in advance
    make install not love

    Registered Linux user number 369245

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Posts
    390
    Well first things first, do you have ip forwarding enabled on your router? Secondly, did you use the nforce-net ebuild? I never had any succss with that on a 2.6 kernel, I always had to use an external module. 2.6.2 has built in support now, maybe you should look into that. Thirdly, you should edit your /etc/conf.d/net for configuring eth0 so it stays perminant. You should also include the broadcast ip.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    And don't forget to add eth0 to the default runlevel:

    Code:
    rc-update add net.eth0 default
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie robak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    136
    i already have done this. eth0 is enabled on startup,
    /etc/conf.d/net is right and i have installed nforce-net driver.
    but i still can't ping out.

    i tried to load the nforce-net modules but i got an error message that it doesn't work.

    Code:
    modprobe nvnet
    bsw: i have the 2.4.22 kernel, but i'm trying the 2.6.2 now
    make install not love

    Registered Linux user number 369245

  6. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Posts
    390
    The module is called forcedeth, it took me a while to find but its pretty much in the middle of the 10/100 page.

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie robak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    136
    i think i found ne problem:

    i have two onboard network controller, 1st is the realtek 8139, 2nd is the nforce
    the nforce controller is eth0, but it doesnt work proparly, and eth1 is the realtek. now, i want that eth0 is the realtek controller and that the nforce controller isn't in my config, because i have deactivated it in BIOS. what have i to do?

    BTW: Dillinger wrote:
    "The module is called forcedeth,... "
    i couldn't load this module but nvnet is working now
    make install not love

    Registered Linux user number 369245

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •