Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
I just bought and installed a 'proper' modem after it became clear that to try to use my old usb one (BT Voyager 105) with Ubuntu would be far too ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

I'm really thick - how do I do this....?

I just bought and installed a 'proper' modem after it became clear that to try to use my old usb one (BT Voyager 105) with Ubuntu would be far too much hassle.

I'm really new to Linux, I've yet to try any stuuf from the shell etc, but I am very keen to get online. My new modem is a Safecom Guru GART2-4112. It works fine under Windows, but I'm not having any joy under Linux. The ethernet conniction is showing as active, but when I try to load any web pages, I just get a 'Looking up google' message, and that's it.

What should I be doing here guys? Please help me to convert totally to Linux!

Linux Enthusiast
    Did you attempt simple troubleshooting? What I mean is did you check the NIC and router/switch to see if you have a connectivity/activity light? If so, did you type ifconfig to see if you received valid TCP/IP settings? Have you checked your name server entries to see if your DNS entries are valid? Have you pinged your default gateway or any other node on your network? Try these and report back. Simple troubleshooting goes a long way!

Thanks for your reply mate.

All the lights are on on my modem, as for everything else:

'did you check the NIC' - What is this? how do i check it?

If so, did you type ifconfig to see if you received valid TCP/IP settings? I'll check this now & post back, i'm guessing i just type this in the shell?

Have you checked your name server entries to see if your DNS entries are valid?[ - How do I do this?

Have you pinged your default gateway or any other node on your network? - How do I do this?

I'm sorry if these are stupid questions, but I have been spoon-fed by Windows for years!