Find the answer to your Linux question:
Dear All, I am using the RH9 and i just have install it in my PC, now i want to configure it into our windows domain, but i am unable ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How to configure the desktop in the Windows domain?

Dear All,
    I am using the RH9 and i just have install it in my PC, now i want to configure it into our windows domain, but i am unable to do so, can you please explain me, what i should do to configure my pc in the domain? Please explain me procedure, i am somewhat new to the linux and want to learn the things, please help me.

Thanks,
    Nishant

Just Joined!
    Do you have a dhcp server in your windows domain? If so, Redhat will get an address from it during installation, unless you chose to enter one manually. You don't have to "join" the domain with linux as you do with windows, it will automatically be on the network.

-fernando

True, you don't have to join the Windows domain to use the network and connect to the internet, but if you have a Windows server or other Windows PCs you want to exchange files with, you will need to join the domain.

Make sure you have Samba installed. I'm not sure about RHL, but there are probably several RPMs: samba-common, samba-client, samba-doc. Configure it with the /etc/samba/smb.conf. (See man smb.conf. I kept mucking with it until it all worked.)

To join the 'office' domain, I used this command:
    Code:
    net ads join -S office -U Administrator
    and was prombed for the Windows server's Administrator's password, which I know. I think you can specifiy a different username if you don't know the Administrator's password.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by KenJackson