Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey everyone, new to the forums but not to linux. I have recently gotten my wireless up and running (Dell 1450 wireless in a 600m) through ndiswrapper. I've also gotten ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Gentoo, WPA and NetworkManager

Hey everyone, new to the forums but not to linux. I have recently gotten my wireless up and running (Dell 1450 wireless in a 600m) through ndiswrapper. I've also gotten wpa_supplicant working and I can connect no problems to my WPA-TKIP router. I'm new to dbus and NetworkManager though, and I've had some problems getting them to set up with my card/driver.

I'm not sure what config files are relevant, as my hardware and the drivers and everything are detected and working properly, but when I try to use the nm_applet distributed with NetworkManager, I can never get a complete connection to my WPA connection. I haven't tried it to other types of networks. Here's a relevant snippet from /var/log/messages:

Code:
    Jul  8 14:08:02 avend NetworkManager: <information>     Activation (wlan0) New wireless user key for network 'dbag' received.
    Jul  8 14:08:02 avend NetworkManager: <information>     Activation (wlan0) Stage 1 of 5 (Device Prepare) scheduled...
    Jul  8 14:08:02 avend NetworkManager: <information>     Activation (wlan0) Stage 1 of 5 (Device Prepare) started...
    Jul  8 14:08:02 avend NetworkManager: <information>     Activation (wlan0) Stage 2 of 5 (Device Configure) scheduled...
    Jul  8 14:08:02 avend NetworkManager: <information>     Activation (wlan0) Stage 1 of 5 (Device Prepare) complete.
    Jul  8 14:08:02 avend NetworkManager: <information>     Activation (wlan0) Stage 2 of 5 (Device Configure) starting...
    Jul  8 14:08:02 avend NetworkManager: <information>     Activation (wlan0/wireless): access point 'dbag' is encrypted, and a key exists.  No new key needed.