Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi there, I am a complete newbie to linux. I have an old pentium-3 computer with three network cards in it. I want to install linux on it and use ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

linux computer as a network switch?

Hi there,
    I am a complete newbie to linux. I have an old pentium-3 computer with three network cards in it. I want to install linux on it and use this pc as a network switch. Can linux be used as a network switch? if yes, then how? I am ready to install and begin with any linux distro that can support this. I appericiate your help
    thnx.

I'm sure it could, but that would be quite a task. If you are the type that likes to aggressively attack a new subject and keep at until you succeed, then go for it. But I recommend you simply buy a $30 switch and then install and enjoy Linux for it's own sake. Here are points to consider.

Normally, multiple ethernet cards in one machine must be on separate, non-overlapping networks, but a switch forwards packets within the same network. That means that most of the available information and advice you are likely to find will be misleading.

I have never heard of any existing application that implements a switch. If none exists, you would either have to write one or come up with an extremely clever iptables configuration.

If you have heavy traffic and a high-speed connection, a Pentium 3 may have difficulty keeping up.

However, if you think the speed will not be a problem and you want to do this, you might consider implementing a router instead of a switch. That is, put each card on it's own network, like 192.168.1.0/24, 192.168.2.0/24, and 192.168.3.0/24, and enabling routing between them.