Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi All This is my first attempt at seeking help through Linuxforums. Last week, I took the plunge and loaded Debian onto a P4 2.8GHz PC I had spare in ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Win XP to Samba networking

Hi All

This is my first attempt at seeking help through Linuxforums.

Last week, I took the plunge and loaded Debian onto a P4 2.8GHz PC I had spare in order to play with Linux for the first time. All has gone well. I have managed to load a driver for the video card, sorted out errant screen resolutions and then turned my attentions to Samba. I have managed to set it up so that I can see and connect to my Windows XP PCs from my Debian PC but am having difficulty achieving the reverse i.e. connecting to the Linux PC from the Win XP machines. Having read a variety of help files and poached from a variety of sources, I have come up with a smb.conf file as follows:

[global]
    workgroup = CATRIONA
    server string = %h server (Samba %v)
    dns proxy = no
    log file = /var/log/samba/log.%m
    max log size = 1000
    syslog = 0
    panic action = /usr/share/samba/panic-action %d
    security = share
    encrypt passwords = true
    passdb backend = tdbsam guest
    obey pam restrictions = yes
    invalid users = root
    passwrd program = usr/bin/passwd %u
    socket options = TCP_NODELAY

[shared files]
    comment = Shared Files
    path = /home/shared files
    writable = yes
    guest ok = yes

[homes]
    comment = Home Directory
    browseable = yes
    writable = yes
    create mask = 0775
    directory mask = 0775

The result of this file's settings is that when I look in "My Network Places" on my XP machines, I can see the Samba Server icon. Sor far so good

When I click on the icon, I see three more icons labelled "Home", "Shared files" and "Printers and Faxes"