Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
I am having a machine with asus motherboard P4800 and 3c940 lan card. i cannot do a telnet to this machine only from a solaris. from all other machines it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2

    telnet from solaris to Linux not working


    I am having a machine with asus motherboard P4800 and 3c940 lan card. i cannot do a telnet to this machine only from a solaris. from all other machines it works just fine. ftp from solaris is working fine.

    it is running Redhat linux 7.3 and i checked telnettting from different version of Solaris and Hp-ux, Windows 2000, NT etc.

    only solaris has problem.

    Help me Please ..!!!!
    Thank you in advance !

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284

    Re: telnet from solaris to Linux not working

    Quote Originally Posted by jns_306
    I am having a machine with asus motherboard P4800 and 3c940 lan card. i cannot do a telnet to this machine only from a solaris. from all other machines it works just fine. ftp from solaris is working fine.

    it is running Redhat linux 7.3 and i checked telnettting from different version of Solaris and Hp-ux, Windows 2000, NT etc.

    only solaris has problem.
    What happens when you do try to telnet?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2
    # telnet <machine name>
    Trying <ip address>...
    Connected to <machine name>
    Escape character is '^]'.

    it just hangs out there ..

    This is what happens. i am using 3c2000 driver from asus site.

    Thanks and regards..

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    796
    Telnet and ftp are disabled by default in linux, verify under /etc/xinted.d the telnet file and set disable=no if you want to use it. THOUGH i would recommend you to use ssh instead that are using encrypted communications.

    It has reason that ftp and telnet are disabled by default, because they are insecure.
    Regards

    Andutt

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    I havent used telnet for a long time but IIRC you are connected but it doesnt show output untill you login or something like that.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •