Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I am very new to Linux (I've just installed Ubuntu 6.06 and installed all the updates). My purpose for running linux is to use it as a server for ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux Server for Windows Network

Hi, I am very new to Linux (I've just installed Ubuntu 6.06 and installed all the updates).

My purpose for running linux is to use it as a server for my gaming LANs, which all use windows. We use a 16 port gigabit switch, which is connected to a router, which traditionally assigned IP adresses. However, I wish to be able to regulate whether people can access the network or not, through the use of a DHCP\DNS host (I think...) However, I am unable to locate such a program. Any help resolving my issue would be much appreciated, as would using language aLinux 'n00b' would understand, as it were.

EDIT: I have seen a local public LAN using a Linux box to regulate who can access the network, and you only get access after you pay. Does my using a router (to enable internet access) complicate the process?

Even if you put together a DHCP and DNS server under Linux that provide these services on a case-by-case basis to the network (this is possible, you can make your DHCP server only provide IP addy's to hosts specified by MAC address) then you wont prevent someone using the network if they specify a static IP address locally.

If you want to limit traffic from your LAN to the internet, then you can establish firewalling rules by putting your Linux machine as the gateway between the internet and the LAN.

You could set it up so that:

- DHCP only provides specific IP addresses to specific hosts identified by network MAC address.
    - DNS only responds to requests from specific IP addresses (ones the machine gives out itself in the MAC address) you can inhibit this using IPtables rules.