Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
hie folks , i am stiill havng problems with my red hat 9 ,i configureed my samba and below is the smb.conf file. [global] workgroup =linuxgroup netbios name = MUDHARA ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    27

    Question network porblem


    hie folks ,

    i am stiill havng problems with my red hat 9 ,i configureed my samba and below is the smb.conf file.

    [global]
    workgroup =linuxgroup
    netbios name = MUDHARA
    server string = RH 9.0 Samba Server
    security = user
    encrypt passwords = yes
    smb passwd file = /etc/samba/smbpasswd
    unix password sync = Yes
    passwd program = /usr/bin/passwd %u
    local master = yes
    os level = 65
    domain master = yes
    preferred master = yes
    domain logons = yes
    admin users = @root tchifamba tkchiunye
    domain admin group = @root tchifamba tkchiunye
    add user script = /usr/sbin/useradd -d /dev/null -g ntmachine -c 'Machine Account' -s /bin/false -M %u
    logon home = \\mudhara\%U
    logon path = \\mudhara\%U\profile
    logon drive = Y:
    logon script = logon.bat

    #============================ Share Definitions ==============================
    [homes]
    comment = Home Directories
    browseable = yes
    writable = yes
    valid users = %S
    create mode = 0664
    directory mode = 0775

    [netlogon]
    comment = Network Logon Service
    path = /usr/local/samba/lib/netlogon
    guest ok = yes
    writable = no
    share modes = yes

    [profiles]
    path = /home/%U/profile
    writable = yes
    create mode = 0600
    directory mask = 0600
    profile acls = yes
    read only = no

    [printers]
    comment = All Printers
    path = /var/spool/samba
    browseable = yes
    guest ok = no
    writable = no
    printable = yes

    [Public]
    comment = Public folder
    path = /home/samba/public public = yes
    writable = yes
    printable = yes
    ; write list = @staff

    when i go to any windows machine and try to access my linux box i get this report

    linuxgroup is not accessible .you might not have permission to use this network resource .Contact the administrator of this server to fin out if you have any permissions.

    The device is not connected.

    what might be the problem guys .bail me out .

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,934
    Stuff to double check:

    - That your windows computers are all set to the 'linuxgroup' workgroup.

    - That each user trying to connect has been added to the samba password system with 'smbpasswd -a <username>', and that their samba password is exactly the same as their windows password.

    - That each user has an account on the Linux machine, and that any difference between their windows logon and linux logon names is mapped in the samba system.

    - That you've restarted the samba process after making changes. You may need to log out and in again under windows too.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    27

    Question

    hie

    just been trying to add new users on samba but i am getting this error message .

    User Compaq_Owner does not exist in system password file (usually /etc/passwd).
    Cannot add account without a valid local system user.
    Failed to modify password entry for user Compaq_Owner

    i want to add two users and these are s follows 1. Compaq_owner
    2. Examinations

    so what should i do with that error message .please help.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,934
    Use the 'useradd' script first to insert the user credentials into the Linux system, then use the 'smbpasswd' tool to add samba passwords and user info for the same users.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    27
    i have done that and its now functional , i added one machine in the same workgroup as the linux box and i go to nay windows machine i can view the workgroup with the two machines in it .But if i click the linux machine it says you do have rthe rights to access the machine and also i can not view any machine from the linux box unless i use the "smb://machine-name" .If i use the command all folders will be epmpty . so how can i view the folders of the windows machines just like fedora c4.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,934
    You would probably find it easier to mount them using an entry in /etc/fstab. May I refer you to some reading to help you understand this better; take a look at the man pages for 'fstab' and 'mount', and also take a look on the samba website at the documentation for the samba-client package.

    HTH.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •