Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi, I have a wireless LAN of about 17 computers. What the problem is, what program can I use to chat via the network only. I dont want to use ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! Simulator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    39

    Chatting Via Wireless LAN


    Hi,

    I have a wireless LAN of about 17 computers. What the problem is, what program can I use to chat via the network only. I dont want to use the internet to chat or a game.

    Thanks in advance.

    Regards, Simulator

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,882
    Take a look at Jabber. You can set it up on your own server. There are a wide range of clients 'cause it uses an open protocol.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

  3. #3
    Just Joined! Simulator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    39
    Thanks for your reply. I tried running Jabber and it would not start (The server). Is there a way i am supposed to setup the server. Anyhelp would be appreciated.

    Regards, Simulator

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,882
    It depends which implementation of Jabber you're using. There are several, did you take a look through your package manager to find one that was pre-compiled for your distro?

    If you need any help with this matter you're going to have to give us some details, e.g.:

    - what jabber server
    - what changes to the default config did you make
    - what does the log file say when you try to start it

    that sort of thing
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

  5. #5
    Just Joined! Simulator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    39
    Sorry for not giving enough details. I tried jabberd. And I had to compile it from source. I run Fedora Core 5.

    There was no modifications to the default configuration (This is probobaly the part i need the most help with).
    When I attempt to start the server it says it is unable to listen on some ports. I cant remember what these ports are but it is only 2 or 3 ports.

    Regards, Simulator

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,882
    If you use KYum you can browse through the repositories for a binary built jabber server. I have ejabberd running here. You can install that with 'yum -y ejabberd'. The config was quite easy.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •