Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am New to Linux.I am using Linux 9.0 ver. I want to setup firewall on the internet server.We have leased line.Tell me how to access internet from these lease ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Firewall

I am New to Linux.I am using Linux 9.0 ver. I want to setup firewall on the internet server.We have leased line.Tell me how to access internet from these lease line.After that how to configure the iptables for restriction to user.

Vijay

Vijay,
    a little more information, please.

What do your leased lines plug into? A router? A card on your PC? What?

have fun

Nerderello

Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

flw
    Linux Engineer

post on firewalls

Maybe easier to print for reading.

Post at http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/vie...389&highlight=

This opens up what I have thought was a basic hole in our on site documention.

We do not have any good information on this site for new users on what a linux user would do for a firewall. I believe we could use a "new user how to create iptables/firewall" for normal usage.

It would include functions/connectively for:

1. General surfing including ssl sites

2. Pop3 mail

3. Remarked out but included just incase script lines for ftp, ssh, newsgroups, webserver, any IM stuff you may know of, along with anything you think should be added.

4. Create a ongoing or rolling log based on a 7 or 15 day max connectivity log length is only to control size since some user may create hugh log and others small. In my opion I think we can assume the user is a heavy surfer-he's here already so he may be a fellow geek :> . In a standard location for ease of disto differences like /etc or /home thing.