Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
I belive my iptables are messed up. I have internet shareing between two computers working, and up untill tonight the file shareing was working also. But now I am unable ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8

    dest unreachable on ping network


    I belive my iptables are messed up. I have internet shareing between two computers working, and up untill tonight the file shareing was working also. But now I am unable to ping 192.168.0.1 (host linux) nor 192.168.0.162 (client win9

    It tells me destination host unreachable, when the ping is done from etiher computer, yet the client still has an internet conection.

    I need to make ping 192.168.0.1 so that it does not give me the destination unreachable error.

    ifconfig:

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:40:F4:43:3E:BD
    inet addr:192.168.0.1 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:20800 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:26532 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
    RX bytes:2180790 (2.0 Mb) TX bytes:26102633 (24.8 Mb)
    Interrupt:10 Base address:0x2000

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:80:C6:FE:15:A9
    inet addr:24.101.44.114 Bcast:24.101.47.255 Mask:255.255.252.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:30301 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:23600 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:25 txqueuelen:100
    RX bytes:29846630 (28.4 Mb) TX bytes:2431654 (2.3 Mb)
    Interrupt:11 Base address:0xc000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:3036 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:3036 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:678753 (662.8 Kb) TX bytes:678753 (662.8 Kb)

    Last night everything was fine, and the only changes I made that I can recal is that inside webmin I chose firewall, and I was told a script was used to generate my iptable rules and weather I wanted to save them, I believe this ment webmin wanted to take controll of them. And I think this is the only logical reason why 192.168.0.1 would be unreachable

    Any assistance would be greatly apreciated.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    The firewall is droping ICMP Packets its common I cannot ping some machines on my network.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8
    Problem is I want to be able to ping my machines, and also now doing a iptables -L apears it is blocking my netbios sessions too,

    I looked it over last night and shorewall apears to be the culptrit and I think it may have goten activated when i went into webmin. But I dont know how to tell it to stop controlling my iptables

    and i apear to have two iptables /sbin/iptables and /etc/sysconfig/iptables

    How do i know which one is active, and in /etc/init.d I have these scripts:

    firestarter, iptables and shorewall

    I think there is a conflict, and ev en if not how do I instruct iptabls that I want to forget everything, and start fresh?

    reject udp -- anywhere anywhere udp dpt:microsoft-ds
    reject tcp -- anywhere anywhere tcp dpt:netbios-ssn
    reject tcp -- anywhere anywhere tcp dpt:microsoft-ds
    reject tcp -- anywhere anywhere tcp dpt:135


    These apear to be blocking my fileshareing. But I dont have enough knowledge to fix it.

  4. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    370
    /sbin/iptables is the main executable file and /etc/sysconfig/iptables is the config file in which is read, one thing you can do is save your current /etc/sysconfig/iptables, create a new one and then /etc/init.d/iptables restart,
    this should create new entries for your firewall.
    Fixing Unix is better than working with Windows.
    http://nikhilk.homedns.org/projects/index.html

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •