Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
I map to Samba shares all day long from Windows desktops. And even by hand from the command prompt on various Linux servers. But what about a Linux desktop? I'm ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    242

    Mount Samba share from other Linux box


    I map to Samba shares all day long from Windows desktops. And even by hand from the command prompt on various Linux servers. But what about a Linux desktop? I'm using OpenSUSE at the moment, I think with Nautilus, and I'm at a loss as to how I map to a network (Samba) share? Obviously an important step in the process of moving to an entirely Linux desktop environment.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    44
    from a browser like Konqueror you would invoke:<b>smb://<ipaddr ></b>. This would pretty much list all the shares available.

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    242
    Ideally I would want them to display as links on the Desktop, or at least always mounted under /mnt, so the network shares would be accessible from any apps that need to open/save files. If I'm going to replace Windows desktops, this is obviously a requirement, so I'm sure it's possible, I just haven't figured out how to do it yet!

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie pajamabama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    In another time's forgotten space
    Posts
    150
    have a look at 'mount.cifs' (or mount -t cifs). It mounts a samba share just like a normal file system.

    http://www.die.net/doc/linux/man/man8/mount.cifs.8.html

    you can add an entry to your /etc/fstab to do this. Something like:

    Code:
    //sambaserver/share /mnt/smbshare cifs auto,credentials=credfile,uid=someuser,gid=somegroup,file_mode=0755,dir_mode=0755
    hope this helps.
    HP Pavilion dv6000t
    Intel Centrino Duo 2.0GHz
    nVidia GeForce Go 7400
    Fedora 10

    ----------------------
    The real question is what time is it and why the hell am I still screwing around with my computer?

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    242
    Quote Originally Posted by pajamabama
    you can add an entry to your /etc/fstab to do this.
    Absolutely. That's the way I've always done them in the past.
    But I'm hoping there's a GUI method, for a layman to configure.
    If a layman can't do it easily, Linux can't deploy to the desktop.

    Email, surfing, photo editing, videos, Office documents, etc.
    Everything is simple -- except mapping to network drives.

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie pajamabama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    In another time's forgotten space
    Posts
    150
    Are you using KDE? If so try right-click on the desktop:
    Create New -> Link to Location (URL)
    then click on the browse button and goto 'Network Folders' -> 'Samba Shares'
    and it should list all the windows workgroups around. This will create desktop shortcuts to any share you need.

    There's also a Panel applet you can add for network folders. check the desktop snapshot attached:
    Right-click on Panel -> Add Applet to Panel
    find the 'Network Folders' applet.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    HP Pavilion dv6000t
    Intel Centrino Duo 2.0GHz
    nVidia GeForce Go 7400
    Fedora 10

    ----------------------
    The real question is what time is it and why the hell am I still screwing around with my computer?

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    242
    Quote Originally Posted by pajamabama
    Are you using KDE? If so try right-click on the desktop:
    Create New -> Link to Location (URL)
    then click on the browse button and goto 'Network Folders' -> 'Samba Shares'
    and it should list all the windows workgroups around. This will create desktop shortcuts to any share you need.
    Very cool. But (un)fortunately I'm using GNOME.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    242
    Maybe I should find a GNOME group to ask.
    Certainly there's a way to handle mappings.

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    242
    Quote Originally Posted by thehemi
    Maybe I should find a GNOME group to ask.
    Or just read some of the GNOME documentation!

    In Nautilus, File -> Connect to Server and use "Windows" share.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4
    ull want to use fstab like banannapants said. If you just create a link, there will be certain limitations...such as issues playing media files off the samba share. You should mount it somewhere on your local file system.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •