Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
i have just installed esx server from vmware which as far as i know is a moded version of redhat. i just brought that lan card and put it in. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    9

    installing a linksys 10/100 lan card


    i have just installed esx server from vmware which as far as i know is a moded version of redhat. i just brought that lan card and put it in. when intsalling the os it seemed to pick it up straight away. and it wanted to use the tulip driver and infact on the driver cd tuplip is given. so i thought it was all well uptill i tried logging in through the browser insterface. it came up with nothing. so i did ifconfig which only showed the lo device. i then did a lsmod tulpis ind it brought up this.

    vmnixmod size 3
    mousedev
    hid
    input
    usb-uhci
    usbcore


    but no network drive.

    im not very good with linuk so im not sure what the interface is called. i tried ifconfig eth0 up but i dont know how to check if its called eth0 or somehting else. their is no gui just a bash.

    i then tried netconfig. it worked fine and i restarted the box. it still dident come up.


    so i thought maybe the driver wasent installed after all so i went to the cd and got the file off it and when i typed in make i got


    gcc -DMODULE -D__KERNEL__ -Wall -Wstrict-prototypes -06 -I/usr/src/linux/include -pipe -fno-strength-reduce -DMODVERSIONS -c -o pci-scan.o pci-scan.c
    pci-scan.c: In function 'init_module':
    pci-scan.c:558: wrning: implicit declaration of fundction 'apm_register_callback'
    pci-scan.c: In function 'cleanup_module':
    pci-scan.c:565: warning : implicit declaration of function 'apm_unregister_callback'
    gcc -DMODULE -D__KERNEL__ -Wall -Wstrict-prototypes -06 -I/usr/src/linux/include -pipe -fno-strength-reduce -DMODVERSIONS -c -o tulip.o tulip.c
    tulip.c: In function 'tulip_open':
    tulip.c:1488: structure has no member named 'tbusy'
    tulip.c:1489: structure has no member named 'start'
    tulip.c: In function 'tulip_start_xmit':
    tulip.c:2607: structure has no member named 'tbusy'
    tulip.c:2640: structure has no member named 'tbusy'
    tulip.c: In function 'tulip_interrupt':
    tulip.c:2659: structure has no member named 'interrupt'
    tulip.c:2663: structure has no member named 'interrupt'
    tulip.c:2744: structure has no member named 'tbusy'
    tulip.c:2748: structure has no member named 'tbusy'
    tulip.c:2845: structure has no member named 'interrupt'
    tulip.c: In function 'tulip_close':
    tulip.c:2991: structure has no member named 'start'
    tulip.c:2992: structure has no member named 'tbusy'
    tulip.c: In function 'tulip_get-stats':
    tulip.c:3031: structure has no member named 'start'
    tulip.c: In function 'private_ioctl':
    tulip.c:3117: "SIOCSPARAMS' undeclared (first use in this function)
    tulip.c:3117: (Each undeclard identifier is reported only once
    tulip.c:3117: for each function it appears in.)
    tulip.c: In function 'set_rx_mode':
    tulip.c:3303: structure has no member named 'tbusy'
    make: *** [tulip.o] Error 1


    so now im stuck. i have no idea on what to do next.

    any help will be greatly apriciated.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    9
    a bit more info.

    i downloaded sme stuff form the tulip site and when i try and install it with the make command i get

    make: *** no rule to make target 'pci-scan.h', needed by 'pci-scan.o'.

    i dont need that file so i thought if i used the command make tulip i would get something. i got this:

    make: *** no rule to make target 'pci-scan.h', needed by 'tulip.o'.

    the files are here
    ftp://ftp.scyld.com/pub/network

    i think these are the right files anyway.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    9
    i mnanaged to install the driver from that website. a small error on my part. but now i cant send data through it. i firstly restered my pc, then i did a ifconfig to see if it was their. then i types in netconfig and set it up using a static private ip. i then rested the netowrk in init.d, i couldent ping my router. somehgting i used to be ale to do on my last linux install. so i set the deive to be set by dhcp, i restarted it again but it still dident work. my router is showing the plug were that pc is pkuged in to be in use but no data trasfer. i tried a diffrent cabel and a diffrent port on my router but it dident work.

    any idea what it could be. and please for the love of all thats holy dont say its the driver.

  4. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Croydon, PA
    Posts
    392
    Post the contents of the, /etc/sysconfig/network and /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 files.
    What is you routers IP Address.
    Good Luck,
    Ski
    RHCT

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    9
    my router ip is 192.168.1.1

    network:

    NETWORKING=yes
    HOSTNAME=alex.dev
    GATEWAY=192.168.1.1


    DEVICE=eth0
    ONBGOOT=yes
    BOOTPROTO=static
    IPADDR=192.168.1.5
    NETMASK=255.255.255.0
    GATEWAY=192.168.1.1

  6. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Croydon, PA
    Posts
    392
    Two things:
    1. Post the output of "ifconfig"
    2. Try pining your IP Address.
    Good Luck,
    Ski
    RHCT

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    9
    my router ip is 192.168.1.1

    network:

    NETWORKING=yes
    HOSTNAME=alex.dev
    GATEWAY=192.168.1.1


    DEVICE=eth0
    ONBGOOT=yes
    BOOTPROTO=static
    IPADDR=192.168.1.5
    NETMASK=255.255.255.0
    GATEWAY=192.168.1.1

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    9
    if config:

    eth0 link encap:ethernet hwaddr 00:18:f8:0b:2f:52
    inet addr:192.168.1.5 bcast:192.168.1.225 mask:255.255.255.0
    up broadcast running multicast mtu:1500 metric:1
    rx packets:0 errors:0 dropped:659 overruns:0 frame0
    tx dito apart from droped which is 0
    txqueuelen:100
    interupt:3 base address:0x5c00

    lo you know that one

    how would i pin an address.

    sorry about the double post.

  9. #9
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Croydon, PA
    Posts
    392
    Quote Originally Posted by alex905
    if config:

    eth0 link encap:ethernet hwaddr 00:18:f8:0b:2f:52
    inet addr:192.168.1.5 bcast:192.168.1.225 mask:255.255.255.0
    up broadcast running multicast mtu:1500 metric:1
    rx packets:0 errors:0 dropped:659 overruns:0 frame0
    tx dito apart from droped which is 0
    txqueuelen:100
    interupt:3 base address:0x5c00

    lo you know that one

    how would i pin an address.

    sorry about the double post.

    Sorry I meant to said "pinging", so ping 192.168.1.5
    Good Luck,
    Ski
    RHCT

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    9
    year i did that i got nothing. but i found something intresting. i forgot to menchen this because i thought it was nothing.

    when i downloaded all the files from that site to make to tulip driver and tried to make them i got this error.

    ns820.c: in function 'ns820_probe1':
    ns820.c:526: 'change_mtu' undeclared (first use in this function)
    ns820.c:526each undecalred identifier is reported only once
    ns820.c:526: for each function it appears in.)
    ns820.c: at top level:
    ns820.c:798: 'change_mtu' used prior to declaration
    make: *** [ns820.o] error 1

    i dident think that this was important as tulip.o and pci-scan.o came out in the end and i thought thats all that mattered.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •