Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 3 of 3
I've got one nic on the motherboard , the other is an add-on card(intel 1000 mt). Onboard card uses dhcp(192.168.1.40), the other a static ip(192.168.2.101). Onboard card is connected to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3

    2 intel gigbit nics , not able to talk


    I've got one nic on the motherboard , the other is an add-on card(intel 1000 mt). Onboard card uses dhcp(192.168.1.40), the other a static ip(192.168.2.101). Onboard card is connected to dsl modem, other card is connected to a linksys gigabit switch. Both indicate they are at 100 mb/s by the green light indicator. If I swap the 2 , meaning swap cables , then both go to yellow indicator light meaning they are at 1000 mb/s. Also attached to the gigabit switch is another intel 1000 mt card(192.168.2.100). Its indicator light is yellow. I'm trying to get the 2 nics attached to the gigabit switch to ping each other, but all I get is host unreachable. I've disabled firewall on both machines and still nothing. I attached a laptop(100 mb/s) to the gigabit switch in place of 192.168.2.100. I am then able to ping.

    ethtool from 192.168.2.101
    Supported ports: [ TP ]
    Supported link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
    100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
    1000baseT/Full
    Supports auto-negotiation: Yes
    Advertised link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
    100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
    1000baseT/Full
    Advertised auto-negotiation: Yes
    Speed: 1000Mb/s
    Duplex: Full
    Port: Twisted Pair
    PHYAD: 0
    Transceiver: internal
    Auto-negotiation: on
    Supports Wake-on: umbg
    Wake-on: g
    Current message level: 0x00000007 (7)
    Link detected: yes

    ifconfig from 192.168.2.101
    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:07:E9:0F:55:C8
    inet addr:192.168.2.101 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::207:e9ff:fe0f:55c8/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:62 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:8319 (8.1 KiB)
    Base address:0xa000 Memory:f9020000-f9040000


    ethtool from 192.168.2.100
    Supported ports: [ TP ]
    Supported link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
    100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
    1000baseT/Full
    Supports auto-negotiation: Yes
    Advertised link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
    100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
    1000baseT/Full
    Advertised auto-negotiation: Yes
    Speed: 1000Mb/s
    Duplex: Full
    Port: Twisted Pair
    PHYAD: 0
    Transceiver: internal
    Auto-negotiation: on
    Supports Wake-on: umbg
    Wake-on: g
    Current message level: 0x00000007 (7)
    Link detected: yes

    ifconfig from 192.168.2.100
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:07:E9:0F:70:FF
    inet addr:192.168.2.100 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::207:e9ff:fe0f:70ff/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:387 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:47603 (46.4 KiB) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Base address:0xa800 Memory:df000000-df020000


    Any ideas why they can't talk? Let me know if more info is needed... thanks

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3
    It appears that I can only get 1 of the 2 gigabit nic cards to actually register as 1 gigabit. it's like which ever is first on the network is listing as 1 gigabit according to the light on the card

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3
    got both cards to register as 1000 mb/s , it appears that 1 will receive packets but cannot send them as when I use the other machine to ping, I see the router lights flicker, but if I ping from the other machine , the lights do not flash.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •