Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, all. Great resource you have here. I'm a newbie to Linux, although I was fairly good at Windows. I like Linux a lot, but I can't get internet to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    jhk
    Just Joined!

Connecting a USB cable modem to Linux??

Hello, all. Great resource you have here.

I'm a newbie to Linux, although I was fairly good at Windows. I like Linux a lot, but I can't get internet to work with my Linux box. I use a cable modem that has ethernet and USB, but my Linux box doesn't have a networking card and my Windows box uses the Ethernet cable anyway, so I have to use the USB connection on the Linux machine.

However, I can't get it to work! I use Mandrake 9.2 and I've tried the connectdrake software. It twiddled a bit and tried installing drivers but didn't work. I've seen this post
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=15028

but it rather confused me. Can somebody explain exactly what I need to configure in order to get Linux to talk to my modem?

thanks

-JHK

Linux Enthusiast

Re: Connecting a USB cable modem to Linux??

From your post it seems that you want to connect your windows pc to the ethernet socket on your modem and the linux computer to the usb socket. Unless your modem is designed to do so, these will not work at the same time. One at a time will probably be OK, but you may need to switch off the PC you are not using.

How far did you get with setting it up, and where are you confused?
    Connectdrake isn't able to find the connection so you will have to set it up by hand but I can help you with that if you need.