Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello every one. I am new to linux and networking in general. From reading articles online I decided to set up a small private network at home for learning purposses. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Wink Problems configuring a private network. Help please

Hello every one. I am new to linux and networking in general. From reading articles online I decided to set up a small private network at home for learning purposses. I have never setup a network in my life before

I have both a public network and a private network.
    I have 2 PCs with Centos4.4 installed in both. Each has 2 network cards. 1 normal 10/100 ethernet card and one GigE card.

The puplic network consist of:
    1 Machine which is my destop is connected to a router using normal 10/100 ethernet card. The desktop is connected to the only monitor.

In the private network:
    The GigE card on the desktop machine(which is the second network card on that machine) is connected to the other GigE card in the second machine which is the server. The server is not connected to the router, thus does not access the internet. The server is not also connected to a monitor. My network link b/w the desktop and the server is CAT6 which is connected to both ends of the GigE card. This makes the private network.

This means I have two separate networks:
    One with the desktop going out to the internet(small) and the second with
    the desktop and the server using CAT6.

This is how my physical connection looks like:
    So, (for 10/100 ethernet on my desktop) I have plug desktop->router->modem.
    The server((GigE port)) is plug into the 2nd ethernet port(GigE port) on my desktop using CAT6
    Right now I can connect to the internet from my desktop b/c is connected to my router but I don't know how to connect to the 2nd computer (server).