Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Please help me, I've spent weeks googling & searching this and other forums. Part of this is I am very new to linux brought on by having purchased a computer ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

configure best date 56k modem problem?

Please help me, I've spent weeks googling & searching this and other forums. Part of this is I am very new to linux brought on by having purchased a computer with Vista. I am trying to use SuSE 10.1 and think I will really like it if i can get on the net with it. I don't know if it is a configuration problem, installation problem, set up problem or what.
    I have dial up, it's all we have out here. Some day may get wireless available, but Embarq has said we will have broadband available the day before hell freezes over (though they were nicer about it).
    I bought a best data 56k external USB modem (my HP doesn't have a serial port) It came with drivers on a CD, with linux drivers & a readme file. I plugged in the modem and YaST does not detect it, but under hardware information it shows up under USB shows a 56k softmodem with a driver of ST7554 USB Modem and the drivers say active modprobe says yes. It shows to be a SGS Thomson Microelectronics 56K softmodem. If I look under File: /etc/sysconfig/slmodemd (using YAsT) in the Harware>modems section
    Possible Values: Any value
    Default Value: modem:1
    Service to Restart: slmodemd
    Description:

Hardware(not modem) device for the slmodemd.

slmodemd accesses hardware devices which are provided
    by the slamr and the slusb kernel modules. This congiuration
    setting determines which hardware device slmodemd should use.

Use "modem" or "hw,y" in ALSA mode, x=card number, y=pcm number
    Use "slamr0" for SmartLink-compatible AC'97 Riser modem codecs
    Use "slusb0" for the SmartUSB56 from SmartLink(extermal USB modem)